jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 11.05.2012 Edition November 5, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

So it’s been a heck of a week around here.   On top of playing catch-up at work, we’ve been trying to work more with Jarly on his training exercises (especially heeling – he really doesn’t want to cooperate!), trying to get into a reasonable fall routine around the house, and then BAM! the computer quits working.

So while Nate the Tech is fixing the real computer, I’m working with the laptop.

Which really means nothing much except that I don’t know how to get pictures off the camera and onto this computer.

That, and I hate typing on the little tiny keyboard. . .

Photobucket

Don’t you hate time change?

I mean, yeah, the idea of driving to work in almost daylight is nice, sure.  But it kind of seems to me like that “extra hour of sleep” just never really happens.

For most of us, anyway.

(And yeah, I figured out how to get a picture off my phone onto the internet, but somehow, it’s just not the same, is it?)

Photobucket

So we’ve had a very busy weekend – Peeps’s mom is back in town – to stay this time – so we took our trip to the public market, where we scored all sorts of wonderful fresh vegetables!

This was the final week for the garlic guys, so I picked up a last bag of fresh garlic- hopefully what I have will last me well into the winter.  Fresh garlic is just SO much better than the store-bought stuff!

The bean guy is back – he grows and dries his own beans (and peas), and, again, it’s amazing what a difference it makes!  He says he’s only going to be around until Thanksgiving, so that mans that, in addition to the 10 pounds of beans I bought this week (at $1 a pound!) I’m going to have to be prepared to buy as many more packages as I can manage next trip, because after that, he’s done.

Photobucket

Jarly’s been doing fairly well in his latest training class – this is the “advanced” class – off-leash!  (Though he’s not off the actual leash yet.)  Although we are learning a lot of new stuff in this class, I’ve been more concerned with his, um, personal skills.  He’s really developed a serious dislike of most other dogs, and the fact that he can spend the better part of the hour in the same room with 8 or 9 other dogs – right now, I’m considering that a lot of progress!

However, we will be taking the class at least one more time, possibly even more, and I WILL expect him to continue working on his actual skills, as well!

Photobucket

We’ve also been busy in the kitchen this weekend!  There’s so much we’ve been wanting to get done, and there’s just never enough time.  It’s been too cold and wet to do any of the outside work, at least not until later in the week, so we’ve been trying to take care of some things in the house.

Since we had plenty of leftover chicken from last week, we decided to try chicken pies – for the freezer!  I’ll let you know how those work.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  I know it’s November, and I know snow is on its way, but WOW I am SO OVER this cold, raining, windy stuff!   We want soups and stews and roasts – warm, cozy food!

Monday – Not his usual schedule, Peeps will be working Monday, so we kind of wanted something quick and mindless for dinner – after all, that’s his usual day off!  A while back, we picked up these stuffed chicken breasts – chicken cordon bleu.  I haven’t had them in years, but they were on sale AND I had a coupon – and it’s a matter of throwing them in the oven, cooking some rice, and probably roasting (or steaming) some fresh broccoli.

Tuesday – Oh, hey, the sun is supposed to come out!  While I was shopping with my mother-in-law the other day, I found King’s Hawaiian . . . hot dog buns!  I’ve only recently discovered their dinner rolls, and those things are seriously delicious – and the thought of wrapping them around a hot dog?  Yes, please!  I’m going to make some potato salad, and we’ll probably do some green beans and pretend it’s still summer.

Wednesday – Well, I guess it’s definitely time to bring back soup night, huh?  I’ve been stashing sweet potatoes for a couple of weeks now  (I  don’t really know why I keep buying more when we haven’t eaten the ones we have) (I often forget we still have them until I go to put the new ones away, actually) so we have some getting-on sweet potatoes that needed to become sweet potato soup.  So, so tasty.

Thursday – Part of the never-ending clean-out-the-freezer project – Peeps pulled out a tub of marinara sauce and a flank steak that’s going to become braciole.  I think we’ll roll and brown the meat earlier in the week, so Thursday all we’ll need to do is plunk it in the sauce and let it cook while we’re sauteeing some of the broccoli raab I picked up at the market this week – probably with plenty of nice, fresh garlic!

Friday – As always, Friday is pizza night .  I’ve been a little lacking inspiration lately on pizza night – no more fresh tomatoes (boo hoo) and no really great leftovers.  However, I think this week, I’m thinking about just good olive oil and lots of fresh herbs and cheese. . . as long as I’ve still got my herbs!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Yolande - November 5, 2012

Love, Love, Love Jarly stories. at the end of them I can’t decide if I pity the poor “puppy” for all he has to go through(being held back in school is never fun) or commiserate with you all for all he puts you through(no leash class but still on leash?). Neat trick that. Meanwhile this “kat” has it made! Not only a super plush bed but Mommy covering him with a blankie???

Can’t wait to hear about all those beans!

Toy Lady - November 5, 2012

Yeah, it’s kind of sad being held back, but on the bright side – by the third time he took the “basic” class, he was the star of the class! Old Jar could do ALL OF THE THINGS without even breaking a sweat! 😆

And with the off-leash class – yeah, apparently they don’t just start the class and take the leashes off! 😉 The dogs, as they demonstrate that they can handle it, still have their leashes on, but they handlers drop them, so they’re just dragging them, for just in case. Safety first, you know!

For now, though, I’m satisfied to keep him in the class, even with the leash. He hasn’t tried (not seriously, anyway) to eat any of the other dogs, so that’s progress. . .

2. judy norton - November 5, 2012

Oh Jar, how we love your little slobbery self, under the blanket and all! He could at least lift his head when you took the picture! 🙂 No wonder Kitty spits at him and he barks back at her. I love the mix. Is Peeps having to work Mondays now because of the holidays or not.? He need that day off to cook and prep and relax for himself. And love “mom” enjoying the market (you are a saint). My two “furr balls” are having trouble adjusting to the time change as they are used to getting me out of bed when the alarm goes off but now they are HUNGRY and telling me about it early. I know my early is not your early but you are not OLD. I am building a chili tomorrow in the crock pot as the cold is arriving. Talk about great soup and warm food and I can stay warm that way. Hope the next week is a good one and yeah, the other pictures are way better but you knew that.

Toy Lady - November 6, 2012

Aw, Judy, poor Jar was TIRED! We had class Saturday, then a nice walk Sunday morning, and it was cold and rainy outside, and warm and toasty inside, and he just wanted to nap. 🙂

Peeps just worked the one Monday to cover for the girl who usually works Mondays – he’ll be back on his normal schedule next week. 🙂

And early is early, no matter how old you are!

3. Anne - November 5, 2012

The time change thing isn’t so bad, but traffic tonight was horrible. Everyone has forgotten how to drive at dusk. OMG IT’S DARK AND WE’RE ALL GOING TO DIE!!! LET’S GO 30 IN A 55!!! Yeesh.

How do you store your fresh garlic? I just can’t figure out what to do with it so it doesn’t shrivel up.

Toy Lady - November 6, 2012

Gah – time change! Waking up an hour early, the cat and the dog waking up an hour early. . . and ready for bed practically before dinner’s done!

About the garlic – I have one of those wire hangy things with three baskets – that’s hanging in the landing to the basement – it’s cool but not freezing there. I keep the garlic in a brown paper bag, in the hangy basket, where it gets air circulation (onions and shallots are in the other baskets) and it usually keeps there for a couple of months, give or take.

4. Becca - November 6, 2012

I admire that you bought the Kings Hawaiian hot dog buns. I am too scared of becoming addicted to them! LOL

Toy Lady - November 6, 2012

I know, right? On the bright side, the Walmart I found them in is a bit out of the way for me. And hot dog season is just about over – though there’s nothing to say you can’t put chicken salad on a hot do bun, is there? 😕

5. Susan - November 8, 2012

I want to live near your bean man 🙂
Congrats to Jar on being in the advanced class! Will you have a graduation party for him?
I’m glad you survived the storm. Are you being hit with this latest?
I hope your computer gets back to normal soon. I am very dependent on my computer and become pretty grumpy when it’s not working right!

Toy Lady - November 8, 2012

I know, right? Fortunately we do have the laptop, and, much as I may gripe about it, it’s better than nothing. 🙂

And maybe we’ll have a graduation party for Jar when he actually DOES EVERYTHING! I swear, he’s TRYING to test me sometimes. 🙄


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

