jump to navigation

I’ve Got You Babe November 14, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

You will recall that one of my 101 Things was to acquire and learn to use an mp3 player, and I’ve certainly managed that.

And no, sadly, this isn’t a post about another Thing accomplished.

See, every now and then, I think about some song or soundtrack or something that I’d love to listen to, and, thanks to occasional $10 iTunes gift cards attached to Sam’s Club packs of batteries, I frequently have a credit at iTunes.  Which means I can download the occasional random song that strikes my fancy.  (go ahead – ask me about the Happy Working Song from Enchanted.)

And THEN I came across an adapter for my car stereo’s cassette player.

Yes, I said cassette player.  The Volvo has this freaky integrated cassette-CD-radio-GPS system thing going on.

Which basically means I can either take it to the dealer to have a new stereo-GPS-whatever installed at a cost of roughly a zillion dollars . . . or I can live with it.

I choose to live with it.

And then, as I said, I found an adapter for the cassette player that plugs into my iPod.

Do you realize what this means?  This means that I can listen to MY playlists, MY podcasts, MY audiobooks IN MY CAR!  This is HUGE!

You see, they’ve changed the afternoon lineup on my station, and now, on my drive home, they’ve got some syndicated show and I don’t get to listen to the local guy that I like – unless I’m REALLY late, and I do try to avoid that.

So now I can just plug in my iPod and listen  to MUSIC!

This afternoon, I had my playlist on “shuffle” (I can do that with the iPod, you know), when an old favorite came up.

Remember back when Sonny & Cher was on TV every week?

Remember how adorable they were?  How cute little Chastity was?

What happened?  I mean, they divorced, and Sonny went into politics.

Cher, well, Cher has become plastic.

And as for little Chastity. . . well, Chastity’s not so cute anymore, is she?

But you know what’s really unfortunate?

How awkward those two lovebirds were twenty years later – it was like they didn’t even know each other anymore.

Am I the only one who thinks that’s kind of sad?

Comments

1. Anne - November 14, 2012

You’re so technologically advanced. I don’t own an iPod. My last cell phone upgrade finally included a camera. We don’t have call waiting.

Come to think of it, we’re right about in line with the original Sonny and Cher era. 😀

Toy Lady - November 15, 2012

Don’t forget, though, that the iPod sat in its box for six months before I worked up the nerve to use it. . . 😀

And you’ve seen how “advanced” my cell phone photos are. 🙄

2. sjbraun - November 15, 2012

Awww … good memories. I do remember Sonny and Cher in their sweeter days. And little Chastity — yeah, quite a change there. Then that reminds me of Donny ‘n Marie, and the Captain and Tenille … the list goes on and on. I miss those simpler times!

Toy Lady - November 16, 2012

Don’t forget Tony Orlando and Dawn!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

