jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 12.10.2012 Edition December 10, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Holidays Countdown, Home, meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

Wow, it has just been all work all the time around here, hasn’t it?

Peeps talked Friday about the new half-bath we’re having put in downstairs – that’s going to be so great, but MAN I wish it was done already!

Poor Jarly has lost his prime lookout spot – he won’t be able to lie on the landing and watch out the front window anymore.

I’m sure he’ll get used to it, but I’ll tell you, for now, he is NOT happy!

Photobucket

I’m going to make a confession here.

I hate Christmas shopping.

I’m not saying I hate Christmas, or that I don’t have any Christmas spirit, or anything like that.

I’m not a grinch.

What I’m saying is WHY do we as a culture feel the need to wear ourselves out,  not to mention wasting our hard-earned money, running around buy-buy-buying more and more “stuff” for people whom we know darned good and well don’t need or, in many cases, even want more stuff?

It’s not the spending of money I object to (much) or even the time spent shopping.

No, it’s the pressure to deliver The Right Gift at The Designated Time to EVERYONE.

I would just prefer to give gifts on my own terms, and at Christmastime, well, to just celebrate Christmas, that’s all.

(Why yes, I did go out and do a little shopping this weekend – how could you tell?)

Photobucket

Photobucket

While my boss has been a sport about having Jar in the office this past week (I’m sure it helps that he hasn’t been there!), I don’t want to over-tax either of them, so took Friday off.

I felt my mother could use a visit from us anyway.

The funniest thing happened.  You see, my parents have this OLD cat – I think he’s about 17 or 18 years old.  And basically, he ain’t gonna move for no dog, no way, no how.   Mother’s dogs understand that, and they leave Geriatric Kitty alone.

My dog, however, firmly believes that cats are squeaky toys that should run and hide.

His encounter with the Cat of Doom was interesting, to say the least.

He saw the cat, and the cat saw him.

He took a step toward the cat, and the cat . . . raised an eyebrow and yawned at him.

He got even closer, and the cat didn’t move.

He poked the cat with his nose, and the cat swatted him in that cold, wet nose, then moved to sit on the back of the chair to keep a better eye on things.

And after that, Jar refused to walk past that chair until the cat had left the room.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Since the contractors STILL aren’t done, I’ll be working late again this week until they are.   Peeps generally sends me an email letting me know when it’s safe to bring the dog home!

Monday – We’ve been doing so well using stuff out of the freezer, but when chicken breasts went on sale this week, I couldn’t resist the idea of pan-roasted chicken, along with roasted sweet potatoes and some broccoli.

Tuesday – We’ve got a nice pot of black bean soup ready to go – we used up some ham left from last week’s pea soup, and a package of Peeps’s homemade chorizo from the freezer.  And of COURSE we used black beans fresh from the Bean Guy at the market!

Wednesday – Last summer I scored an excellent deal on some Copper River salmon, and I kind of stocked up – it was SO good!  We’ll either poach or bake that, and I picked  up some farro a while back – that’s supposed to be good, and I’m always up to try a new grain.  Oh, and you know what happens when you see a HUGE head of fresh broccoli at the public market for $2?  You eat broccoli three or four times before it’s gone!

Thursday – We dug a pork loin out of the freezer – and it’s been ages since we’ve enjoyed our maple-glazed pork roast.  I would imagine that would be nicely complemented by our homely veggie mash, and, assuming we aren’t still eating broccoli, we’ll have some of my garden green beans from the freezer.

Friday – We’ve been enjoying pizza night with Peeps’s mom since she got back up here, and this week will be no different.  I may try some leftover pork roast and maybe some veggie mash on mine. . .hmm.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy norton - December 10, 2012

You will be so happy when this is done. Most used room in the house! The mess will fade away…. good, good Jarly! AND the food will be great for the crazy schedules and the weather! It is all good. Oh, Christmas cactus this year? I so hope so..

Toy Lady - December 11, 2012

Oh, I sure hope so, Judy. Right now, I’m growing to hate it! 😕


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

