jump to navigation

Oh My Gosh They’re Killing Me! December 12, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

The bathroom.

It’s a never-ending project,  I fear.

Every day for the rest of my life, I’m going to come home and find random packages, boxes and buckets of drywall compound.

The floor, while tiled, remains to be grouted.  The walls remain in various stages of finished-ness.

I’m going to be painting for the rest of the winter.  Le sigh.

We thought they’d be done in a week.  Since they started last Wednesday, by my calculations, that should mean they’d have been done Tuesday afternoon.

I guess math just isn’t my thing, because it seems that a “week” doesn’t mean an actual calendar week. It apparently means some indeterminate number of days that no one knows for sure.

Photobucket

There was some kind of misunderstanding – they didn’t order any lights.  Evidently someone thought I’d provide something special.  I say it’s a bathroom light.  There’s nothing special about that.

But meanwhile, we’re in the dark, so I went to Home Depot and found the least stupid-looking fixtures I could.  And I hope I can either return them or be reimbursed for them, because honestly? For what I’m paying to have this bathroom installed, someone ought to be to turn the light on and off for me.  Sheesh.

Meanwhile, it turns out that my office building has a “no dogs allowed” policy – my boss had no idea when he granted me permission to bring The Jar to work.  Unfortunately, we ran into our building manager last week (almost literally – we stepped off the elevator on our way out for our afternoon breath of fresh air, and THERE he was!), and  then someone in another building started bringing their dog in, and, well, he just felt he had to nip it in the bud, I guess.

So anyhow, we’re still here, stepping over extra furniture in the living room, and still running upstairs to, um, take care of business.

But it’ll be great when it’s done. Really.

Comments

1. judy norton - December 12, 2012

Well, I am sorry to read this. From the continuing mess, light switches, and Jar being booted, what can I say. Tis a loverly mess for sure. SO SORRY.

Toy Lady - December 13, 2012

Oh, we’re getting there. We have a sink! And a step! And even doors! 🙂

2. mazco34 - December 12, 2012

I’ll trade your mess for mine.

Toy Lady - December 13, 2012

Nice, Maz. Way to throw a little perspective on my pity party. . . 😉

3. Anne - December 12, 2012

Le sigh indeed. My DH does handyman/home repair work, and I’m willing to bet they told you “about” a week. Of working days. Not including weekends. On the other hand, tiling does take a little time, just because there is drying time between steps. Just gotta happen.

The part about the light, I don’t get. I mean, they provide it or they don’t. Either way, you’d should have had to specify what you wanted.

It’ll all work out. If they’re tiling now, and you’re doing the painting, I’ll bet you have most of a bathroom by the weekend. I’ll come and paint it for you! It’ll be .. about a week. 😀

Toy Lady - December 13, 2012

I know. But still – if I tell a client they’ll have their stuff in “about a week” then, by golly, three days later, they’re calling looking for it. 🙄

And heck, I’m not even going to think about painting until after the holidays. I just . . . can’t deal. The (more) mess, the dog, just . . . later. 😕

So. . . see you in about a week, huh? 😉

mazco34 - December 13, 2012

So when they tell you the that they will pay the bill “In a week,” you know that means “We’re going to hold off until you threaten us with a weekend visit from Jarly!”

Toy Lady - December 13, 2012

Aw, Maz, you know our clients are all municipalities – they don’t mind paying us. It’s not THEIR money, after all!

Plus, the handful who know about The Jar think he’s a cutie. 😀


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

