jump to navigation

It Has Been Brought To My Attention December 19, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Holidays Countdown.
trackback

It’s been brought to my attention that I have not provided a Christmas cactus update in a while.

Hi, Judy!

It is indeed nearly Christmas, and the cactus is, well, see for yourself!  It’s a happy camper, if a cactus can, in fact, be happy (or camp)  in December.

Photobucket

We’re chugging along here – the contractor stopped to pick up his final check, we’ve got bare-naked walls all over the place, and I’m not even going to care about that until after the new year.

For now – it’s time for Christmas to begin!

I’ve got a tree to decorate (and buy!), socks to knit, gifts to wrap, and Christmas dinner to plan  and prep – we’re cooking again for the family.

Holy cow, do I have socks to finish!

Yikes!

I’m also trying to remain mindful of the joy in the season, even amid the crazy busy-ness of the season and the terrible sadness that’s been visited upon so many families this past week.

I’m not sure when I’ll be posting again – possibly Monday, but that’s Christmas Eve and I may be up to my eyeballs in peeling potatoes and baking red velvet cake.

Do remember to spend some time rejoicing this week -Merry Christmas!

Comments

1. Yolande - December 19, 2012

I have been woefully remiss lately in reading your blog…sorry. Got caught up this morning! Got really nervous there was a new puppy in the house?!? Then I realized just cute video.
Gorgeous cactus! Can’t wait to see the new bathroom painted…after the new year. Cranky Jar will adjust. Loved the snippet about Jar and geriatric kitty.
Joyeux Noel and Bonne Annee…as I say to all leaving the restaurant at this time of year.

Toy Lady - December 19, 2012

Gosh, Yolande, it’s not like you’ve got anything else going on, is it? 🙂

Right now, I’m thinking about colors and decorating styles – I have a feeling the old house is in for a bit of a makeover over the next few months. . .

2. Anne - December 19, 2012

*squeeeee* P-p-p-puppies!!!!!

As you recover from the construction, I am just starting. Tonight I disassembled my living room. Starting tomorrow, I scrape the *#$ popcorn off the ceiling (16′ at the peak), prime and repaint it, repaint the walls, pick out new recessed lights for the ceiling, and assist my DH in adding hardwoods. This will hopefully be wrapped up by New Years. Or, about a week. 😀

I hope you have informed your employer that you’ll be absent for a while. One cannot work and knit socks at the same time. Unless, of course, the boss is out. Then what better to do than finish Christmas presents?

Enjoy your holidays!

Toy Lady - December 21, 2012

Oh, Anne, when you get done, you should come teach me how to do all that cool stuff!

I have *#$ popcorn in my bathroom and I HATE it (the old bathroom, not the new one) (heh, how cool is that?).

I’ve been staying up late knitting . . . once I have to start picking out stitches, I know it’s time for bed. 😦


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

