jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 02.04.2013 Edition February 4, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in Big Lug, Home, meal plan monday, Musings.
trackback

Photobucket

It’s been a quiet week around here for all of us.  Cold, too.  Though really, it’s February – the dog days of winter – so honestly, what do we expect?

This is hibernating season – even the Jar knows that!  These days, more often than not, he spends most of his waking hours (and not-so-waking hours!) curled up in his bed, and he’s often more than happy to be tucked in, too.

Who’s his Mama’s boy?

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’ve finished my holiday knitting, so right now I’m working on some recreational knitting.  Basically, that means more socks, but for myself this time!

Funny story . . .

When I was preparing to start a new pair of socks, I went through some patterns, looking for Just the Right One – like I always do

There was one pattern I almost chose – it had this fancy detail on the heel.

I pointed out the HEEL to Peeps, asked him just LOOK at the HEEL.  Isn’t that HEEL pretty?

Poor Jarly – he couldn’t seem to figure why, while sitting on the couch, I kept telling him to HEEL!

To his credit, he did actually consider getting up!  I’d say he’s been doing pretty well in his training, huh?

So I guess the socks with the fancy H-E-E-L-S will have to wait a bit.

Photobucket

I guess it’s all Jarly all the time this week!

I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned Jar’s affinity for fire trucks.  He does love to sing along.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’ve still got the winter weather advisories going on this week – gosh it just seems like this winter is dragging on, doesn’t it?  However, I remind myself that February’s the shortest month. Before we know it, we’ll be running out of time for the roasts and braises and stews. . .

Monday –  I’m going to confess – I am a sucker for a chicken on sale.  We have whole chickens – even a turkey – in the freezer, but whenever I see them on sale, I just can’t resist. We’re roasting a chicken, along with some fingerling potatoes – take that, February!  Add in some frozen green beans from the garden, and we’ll be very happy!

Tuesday – Remember how last week I roasted some brussels sprouts?  Boy were they good!  However, Peeps is not the sprout fan that I am, so we made up some Dijon mustard butter for him- and had some leftover.  Rather than let that go to waste, we’re going to cook some salmon in it.  Mmmm. . .salmon with mustard butter!  I’ve got some fresh spinach which will be good, and I’m thinking some grilled corn out of the freezer.

Wednesday – Not to let soup night get away from us, Peeps has been wanting a nice, warm potato soup with a bit of ham.  I think a potato soup with cheese would be nice, so I’m pretty sure we can figure out something that will please both of us, don’ you think?

Thursday – Since we’re roasting a big old chicken earlier in the week, I’m thinking little individual chicken pot pies would be fun.  In fact, I’m leaning  toward Moravian chicken pie – in personal size.  How cute!

Friday – Peeps’s mom will be joining us for pizza night – it’s good for her to get out of the house, and, of course, it’s always nice for all of us to spend the evening in front of the TV enjoying our pizza!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - February 4, 2013

Awww, I love an all-Jar edition 🙂 That is so fun with him imitating the fire truck. I’ll have to play that later for the kids. I can relate to the sleeping thing. I was sad to have busy Saturdays the past 2 weeks, because that is usually the one day a week when I can sleep in. Stay warm there! February ought to bring us closer to spring.

Toy Lady - February 5, 2013

You keep warm, too! That’s about the only GOOD thing about February, isn’t it – when it’s done, it’s March!

2. judy norton - February 6, 2013

Jar is one spoiled puppy what with being tucked in and all. Just saying. 🙂

Toy Lady - February 6, 2013

He is, I’ll admit it. 🙂


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

