jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 02.18.2013 Edition February 18, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_7324_zps41e111ac.jpg

I’m going to make a confession here.  Ever since I read the King Arthur Flour blog post about mini pies, I have wanted a mini-pie maker in the worst way!

For two years, I’ve managed to convince myself that, no, I don’t NEED it.  No, I don’t have room for it.  And definitely don’t need to be making (and eating!) pies on a regular basis!

Then it happened.  Woot had little, 4-well pie bakers really cheap, so, well, I gave in and ordered one.

But seriously, what’s cooler than a little tiny scrambled egg and cheese breakfast pie?

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7331_zps6072cac5.jpg

We have a local pottery store that, once a year, has its annual “seconds sale.”  And while most of the stuff is seconds, some is just “been around for a while and we need to make room for new stuff” and most of it is absolutely gorgeous.  Or at the very least, really cool.

So over the past several years, we’ve been working on replacing our mass-production dishes and glasses and replacing it with more unique,  handmade items.  It does start to add up, but I’m doing it gradually, and I love it!

However, this is essentially the only time I can afford to walk in that store  – so when  I do, I certainly make it worth the trip!

I addition to a few glasses, a couple of bowls, and some beautiful pasta dishes, I even found us a new teapot – I’m so thrilled with it!

Photobucket

We, um, well, winter’s back.

We woke up to a fresh pile of snow – and it’s getting COLD!

However, Sunday is bone day, and Jarly doesn’t care if it’s 15 degrees out and snow is falling from the sky by the bucketful.  It’s BONE day!

Fear not, though – when he was ready to come in, we let him and thoroughly toweled him off – Jar does love a good rubbing with the towel!

Photobucket

I have noticed, when I come in from walking the dog in the mornings, that I don’t have a clock within sight of the front door.  I  like to check and see what time it is when I get home, so I know how much time I have to feed the dog, feed the cat, make breakfast, pack lunch, and get ready for work.

So. . . since I was in the pottery shop anyway, where better to find the perfect new clock for my new front entry?

I cant’ wait get the walls painted so I can see what it’s going to look like for real!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It’s gonna be a cold, wintry week, and we’re pulling stuff out of the freezer, so the week’s menu will reflect that.

Monday –  I was looking for something meatless to do this week, and I found this swiss chard, ricotta and sausage torta in the archives.  It sounded good, but not meatless. So I made a few changes – first, we’re using some of our garden kale instead of the chard, and I seasoned some white beans with rosemary, sage, garlic, fennel and pepper.  So it’s sort of a greens & beans (and ricotta) pie – in a whole wheat parmesan crust.  And who knows – maybe there will be enough filling left to do some mini-pies too!

Tuesday – We realized last week that we’ve got quite a bit of boneless chicken breast in the freezer,so we’re making it a point to, well, to use it.  This week we’re making this creamy garlic chicken that we discovered several years ago.  Some barley or some other grain, plus a salad or some sort of vegetable, and it’ll be fantastic.

Wednesday – Just so you know, the Chinese barbecued pork last week was a success – and we’ve got a bunch leftover, so we’ll use some in a nice Asian noodle soup – basically some Asian chicken stock I made and canned a while ago, with some diced pork, scallions, and fresh linguine tossed in. It sounds simple, but it’s fantastic on a cold, wintry evening!

Thursday – This is embarrassing – I’m starting to get empty quart canning jars piling up, and nowhere to put them – all the boxes seem to be full of jars of tomatoes!  In the interest of emptying some of those jars, we spent the better part of Sunday with a big old pot of sauce cooking on the stove.  Plus I’m looking forward to trying out our new pasta bowls!

Friday – You know, I would imagine that the long-simmered ragu would probably make a nice sauce on pizza night – definitely worth a try, huh?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Judy norton - February 18, 2013

I love your tea pot! Sounds like your annual shopping trip at that shop was a big success and the clock is cool. Jar and his bone is a great photo and your mini pies look so good! The new recipes make winter a little easier to get through and yes, spring is just around the corner.

Good read. Have a great week.

Toy Lady - February 18, 2013

Judy, if by “a big success” you mean “I spent WAY too much money AGAIN” then yeah, the trip to the pottery shop certainly was successful! 😉

2. sjbraun - February 18, 2013

Your pies are so sweet! I love the teapot as well. I love your idea of slowly replacing your dishes, etc — are you just replacing them with non-matching, then? One of the girls’ teachers invited us over and she had dinner plates that were all different, but all blue. It was really charming! The clock is neat, too.

Toy Lady - February 19, 2013

Yes, there are so many different artists and styles that I couldn’t choose just one! I’d love to stick to one color (or a color family), but even that would be hard, with all the different styles, and the year-to-year purchases. For the most part, though, I do try to buy the pieces in pairs, so at least our dinnerware is similar. . . and if we have company, well, we don’t have company that often anyway! 😉

And I LOVE the clock!

3. Melinda - February 18, 2013

My husband’s grandmother is a potter, and her work is beautiful. I love acquiring pieces of her work; they make such unique dishes for my home.

Toy Lady - February 19, 2013

How nice for you, that you have a potter in the family. What wonderful heirlooms!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

