jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03.04.2013 Edition March 4, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

I can’t start off this week without wishing all of our readers a happy National Grammar Day!

Of course, being a child of the seventies, I can’t help thinking that there were some things we had better than today’s kids.  I mean, while March Forth is a nice enough song and all, well, it’s no Schoolhouse Rock, is it?

Photobucket

So we had a bit of snow, and then it mostly melted.  (Then we had more snow, and yet more, but that’s beside the point.)

I happened to look out the window, and I noticed that our neighbor’s Harley Kitty had evidently had enough of picking through the slush and snow and mud and had sought higher ground for a while.

Not only is Harley Kitty NOT a fan of melting snow, she’s clearly not fond of the camera, either, is she?

Photobucket

I guess you can probably tell that it’s been a long, uneventful week around here, can’t you?

One fun thing – after we had the powder room put in, we had to move the computer out to a corner of the dining room.  That in itself isn’t a huge deal, but I’ve come to realize how much I’d grown to rely on the computer near the front door – I’ve already replaced the clock in the front entryway, but I really, REALLY missed the outside temperature – I have a Google Weather feed on my home page.  Rather than actually GO outside, I prefer to know what to expect first – and how much I’ll need to bundle up!

Enter Wendy the Weather Wizard!  We found this indoor-outdoor thermometer and knew it was JUST the thing! Not only does it give us the date, time -and temperature –  inside and out – but the little graphic tells how I should dress to go outside.  EXACTLY what I need at 4:30 in the morning!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  I fear I’ve got another busy week coming up, so we’re trying to either keep it as simple as possible, or to have as much pre-done as possible.  Last week, we had most of the week’s meals essentially finished, and it was a lifesaver when I came rolling in 2 or 3 hours late most of the week.  (Yeah, last week was bad.)

Monday – We were thumbing through a back issue of Cook’s Country, and in the 30-Minute Meals section of the magazine, we saw Tennessee Pork with Greens – basically, it’s pork tenderloin medallions browned in bacon fat, with garlicky, bacony greens and a nice bourbon-mustard pan sauce for the pork.  That, along some brown rice should be lovely.  AND it’s (supposedly) a 30-minute meal!

Tuesday – I picked up WAY too much broccoli at the public market last week – and when you have too much of a vegetable, the best thing to do is make soup out of it, right?  We’ve got a nice broccoli cheese soup which will be perfect with some fresh bread.

Wednesday –  We were rummaging around in the freezer, and way down at the bottom, I found a package of boneless chicken thighs.  We knew they’d been in there a bit longer than I’d like, so it was time to use them – so we’re going with an old favorite – chicken goulash.  We’ll either finish the broccoli (I told you I bought too much!), or we’ll toss a salad to go with it.

Thursday – We keep a “mental list” of various meals we want to be sure to make in the correct season – some things are just better in the winter, like the Greek version of lasagna, pastitsio.  One thing we’re trying to do is NOT keep filling the freezer, which means this will be dinner Thursday, probably lunch Friday, then dinner again over the weekend.  And there will probably be enough to send home with The Boy next time he comes by – after all, that’s the “mom” thing to do, right?

Friday – Last week, on pizza night the ricotta filling with salami was fantastic – of course!  This week, I may try the same ricotta, only this time with just some caramelized onions.  I don’t care for regular onions on pizza, but when they’re deeply browned and caramelized, well, it doesn’t get much better!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Judy norton - March 4, 2013

Good Monday to you and yours. I love your new gadget! Especially being helped with “what do I wear?” Good catch. The neighbor’s cat does look a little grumpy but I look that way too because we are sick of winter. Your menus will brighten you up some I hope. Have a good week! 🙂

Toy Lady - March 5, 2013

Hey, Jude – yes, Harley’s looking a little over winter, isn’t she? 🙂 And it’s taking Wendy the Weather Wizard a little bit to acclimate to the cold – either that, or her sensor is too protected. . . but still, it helps. 🙂

2. The Weary Chef - March 4, 2013

Mmm, bacon fat. The pork and greens sound delicious!

Toy Lady - March 5, 2013

Oh, it was fanatastic! 🙂 And leftover greens folded nicely into a scrambled egg for breakfast this morning, too.

3. sjbraun - March 4, 2013

Happy March forth! My dad used to always tease about it being the only day that is a command 🙂 Yeah, we did have it nice with Schoolhouse Rock! Love the kitty on the car. Your powder room project sounds exciting. I do love your temp/time/how to dress thingie! 4:30 — holy cow. Really?

Toy Lady - March 5, 2013

Yeah, really! Peeps has to be at work by 5, so . . . we have a quick cup of coffee, then off we both go. That’s how the dog gets his nice, long early-morning walks. 🙂 (And why I’m usually asleep by 9!)


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

