jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03.11.2013 Edition March 11, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, Musings, Shopping With Peeps.
trackback

Ugh.  Time change week.  

It’s already been so crazy busy around here – I’ve been just plain wiped out.

In fact, I even totally forgot to get a photo of my market trip this weekend – probably because I was in such a rush to get home, unload the car, leash up the dog, and get back downtown for Obedience Class by 9.

But I did go to the market, and I did go to obedience class, and, well, I even slept in Sunday morning.

So tell me, how does Daylight Savings Time make you feel?

Photobucket

I don’t remember if I’ve mentioned it before or not, but a while back, I ordered a French press from Woot.  I do love my woots, don’t I?

Anyway, I sort of ordered it on a whim – I’d never used a French press for coffee before, and I still don’t use it often.  But, what with the whole time change thing, well, who can’t use a little extra caffeine?

I must say that, while it’s a little fiddly to want to use first thing in the morning, this method makes what is probably some of the smoothest, tastiest coffee I’ve ever had.

It doesn’t hurt, either, that I use really good locally-roasted coffee beans, either, I’m sure.

Photobucket

Time change weekend isn’t necessarily all bad.  I mean, yeah, everyone’s short on sleep and all, but it does mean spring is coming, right?

Especially when we’re suddenly enjoying a somewhat sunny weekend with temperatures close to 70 – THAT tells me spring isn’t far away at all!

And there’s just something great about being able to open the back door and get some fresh air while The Jar stretches himself out on the deck and just suns himself.

Who’s our solar-powered puppy?

Photobucket

Shopping With Peeps!

Sort of!

I happened to have a coupon for Nestle Crunch bars, and, well, I couldn’t just let it go to waste, could I?  Of COURSE not!

When I opened the bar, I noticed, on the inside of the label, a “NESTLE Promotion Code.”

So okay, I’m game – but the only information on the label about this “promotion” is a phone number – no terms and conditions, no website, not even any explanation of just what the “promotion” may be.

Just a phone number.  No WEBSITE, even!

Um, okay, let me break out my rotary dial phone and give them a call. . . what is this, the twentieth century or something?

The really sad thing? I did call the number, and the interminable message . . .  directed me to a website.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  I’m still mad busy at work this week (it’s that time of year!), so we’re hoping to keep it simple again.  Last week, I was excessively late 3 out of 5 evenings – it was so great to have dinner that could just be put together either when I got home, or when I told Peeps I was on my way.

Monday –  We’re hoping the weather holds one more day – we’d like to grill some chicken – maybe with some lemon and garlic.  Plus we’ve still got one butternut squash that should get eaten before it’s too late!

Tuesday – I picked up some more sugar snap peas at the market Saturday, which I thought would be nice baked in a foil packet with some tilapia, herbs, and meyer lemon slices, and drizzled with some good olive oil, then served with some brown rice or some other grain. . . tasty AND healthy!

Wednesday – Peeps brought home some “homework” the other day – his boss is trying a new variety of ravioli, and we get to be guinea pigs.  Oh boy!

Thursday – I saw this recipe for pot roast the other day – though rather than the crock-pot, we already cooked it in the oven.  Once it’s cold, we’ll slice it and reheat it right in the gravy.

Friday – Again with pizza night – we’re grilling steaks this weekend, and we’ll undoubtedly have some leftover.  What’s better than cheesesteak pizza now and then?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Judy norton - March 11, 2013

Loving that pup soaking up the rays! You life sounds pretty nuts right now but the good food just rolls along, with a lot of cooperation. Is Kitty just hiding out until things calm down? Maybe sitting in a sunny window out of the way? I believe I am smelling that coffee doing its thing. Enjoy! pat those four legged family members for me.

Toy Lady - March 12, 2013

Oh, Judy, it’s crazy! I can’t seem to catch a break! It’s so nice to have a plan for dinner – and to have help!

And yeah, the kitty’s prancing around every chance she gets, too! 😀

2. Anne - March 11, 2013

I’d like to know any secrets for the French press. We have one that we use on the boat, so all we have to do is boil water on the little grill. But try as we might, it just doesn’t taste like it does at home. I can’t describe it, just .. well ..different. I can’t seem to get the proportions right, or something. 😕

DST affected me not at all. I have a cold, so last night I took some nighttime cold and flu stuff. Slept like a baby for nine hours. I think I got my hour back!

Toy Lady - March 12, 2013

I don’t know if I’ve got any secrets for the French press, Anne – the coffee is definitely different. Not as strong, but more smooth is all I’ve got.

And I would say lucky you about the DST, but I most certainly don’t need a cold! Ugh. Hope you’re feeling better. 🙂


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

