jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 04 01 2013 Edition April 1, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_7425_zpsba1003bf.jpg

Here it is, another Monday!  Where does the time go?

I trust everyone enjoyed the holiday weekend – Easter is one of my favorite holidays!

We very much enjoyed last week’s butternut canneloni – we ended up with enough for two meals, though, so half of it’s in the freezer.  Expect that to make another appearance on the menu soon (before I forget it’s there!).

Peeps ended up throwing some barley into the turkey soup, and it was fantastic – we enjoyed it for dinner, a couple of lunches, and I think there’s about one more lunch left.  There is very little that can beat a good homemade soup, is there?

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7430_zps57635cd5.jpg

Regular readers may have noticed, well, not much going on here lately.  Long-term regular readers may recall that I’m starting to head into my busy season at work about now.  Things have been just nuts!

I’m working late almost every day, and, to be honest, by the time I get home, all I really have energy for is to have dinner and sit on the couch for a bit, before heading for bed, to start it all over the next day!

I took a day of “vacation” last week – I took advantage of the already long weekend and added an extra day.

 photo IMG_7431_zpscc6abe38.jpg

I spent much of the time paining.  Painting walls, painting trim, painting baseboards.  I do need to mention that for the first time EVER, I was able to paint a room, and the Big Lug does NOT have a tinted tail, butt, or any other body part.  He stayed completely OUT of my way for two days.  (While I was painting, anyway.)

I still need to remove the gosh-awful tiles and clean up the stickiness from those. I also need to do something about the front window – something a little more than the simple sheers that are there now.  I also want to re-paint that WHITE bench and fabricate some new covers for the cushions – something that will coordinate with the valances-to-be.

But I did find the neatest little baskets for the little cubbies in the bench – cool, huh?

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7426_zps5f354275.jpg

We’ve had some almost spring-like weather this weekend, which is a nice change!

Jarly’s taken a definite liking to just hanging out on the deck, baking in the sun – it’s so nice to watch him so relaxed out there, isn’t it?

We finished another session of Advanced Obedience this weekend – and our Jar was an absolute star!

You may recall that he’s developed some, well, some aggression issues with other dogs.  He’s not a mean dog, by any means – he’s just nervous around strange dogs, that’s all.  And, because he’s so much bigger than most other dogs, well, we just have to be careful.

He made me very proud, though – he sailed through the class like  a pro, and he managed any anxiety he may have felt – he actually wanted to play with the others!   He’s such a good boy!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It looks like our warm weather isn’t going to stick around quite yet – which gives us another chance to enjoy some of our cold-weather favorites!

Monday – We definitely can’t let winter slip away without another pot of chili!  We did a little, well, adapting here, though.  I couldn’t find any pork shoulder in the freezer (imagine that!) so it’s just beef this time.  Oh, and I accidentally soaked too many beans, so we made a LOT of chili, too!

Tuesday – We made that big pot of sugo last week (finally), and while some ended up in the freezer, we still have enough left out for one more meal.  I am TRYING not to keep putting stuff in the freezer!  I’ll send a container of the stuff home with The Boy next time he stops by.  (In fact, if he plays his cards right, he may even get some of Monday’s chili, too!)

Wednesday – I’ve got a bag of frozen green beans from last summer’s garden (actually two bags) that’s starting to show its age – while freezing fresh veggies does make it possible to store them for a while, they still don’t last forever!  So I thought, well, if you can make cream of broccoli soup, and cream of asparagus soup, and, pretty much, cream of whatever vegetable soup you want, why not cream of green bean soup?  So, yeah.  That.  With fresh bread, of course.

Thursday – We dithered most of the week, but we did decide to buy a spiral-sliced ham this weekend.  Yes, it’s a lot of ham for the two of us, BUT well worth it.  I’m sure we’ll find plenty of ways to re-purpose leftover ham (including using the bone in soup!) – first up is scalloped potatoes with ham.  That’ll make a nice comforting meal, won’t it?  We’re going to have to find a veggie to go with that, too.

Friday – As it does, Friday brings us back to pizza night.  This week, oh, I don’t know, maybe I’ll put some leftover ham on my pie!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. pmoppins - April 1, 2013

I can’t wait to see how the cream of green bean soup turns out!

Toy Lady - April 1, 2013

I love that it fills the weekly “soup night” and the “meatless” slots on my menu! It’s already got THAT going for it, right? 😉

2. Laurie - April 1, 2013

I think cleaning out the freezer is my next project so I can make some sugo. It looks so good.

Toy Lady - April 1, 2013

Thanks, Laurie – that’s definitely one of our cold-weather favorites! And it makes a BOATLOAD!

3. Anne - April 1, 2013

I’ll trade you painting, sewing cushions and making window treatments for the rest of the butternut canneloni. If that’s not enough, I could walk Jarly, too.

Deal? 😀

Toy Lady - April 2, 2013

Yeah, now you tell me!

4. Judy Norton - April 2, 2013

What a cool column all around. I love those little baskets and Jar does look so relaxed and comfortable~meals looking great and hope the job does not get totally out of hand this year. Thinking about your garden yet? I am sure it is already totally planted in your mind.

Toy Lady - April 3, 2013

Oh yeah, Judy – I plot out the garden in the fall so I know where to put the garlic! I need to order my seeds soon, and I’ll pick up plants next month. Ah. . . spring. 🙂

5. Judy Norton - April 2, 2013

Meant to comment on the clock again. I just LOVE IT. Cool like you.

Toy Lady - April 3, 2013

I am so happy with my funky little clock!

6. kayatthekeyboard - April 2, 2013

Don’t forget you wanted to make carbonnades a la flamande over grits before winter’s over :). I like that bench. I want one. But not until I move wherever I’m moving.

Toy Lady - April 3, 2013

OH, I know. When I pulled the hunk of chuck out of the freezer last week, it was a tossup between the chili or the stew. Chili won – THIS time. Fortunately, our winter lasts a little longer than yours does. 😉

Bench came from Bed Bath & Beyond – it’s got nifty little lifting seats to stuff gloves into. 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

