jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 04.22.2013 Edition April 22, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, Musings.
trackback

 photo IMG_7449_zps19b3538e.jpg

I had a successful trip to the public market this weekend.  Guess what – spring is here!  That’s right – it’s officially RAMP SEASON!

We have one guy at the market who, I think, makes it a point to be the FIRST with ramps, and I ALWAYS grab them.  And, of course, we did our version of ramp carbonara – this time with leftover ham and super-fresh eggs – it was delightful!

Photobucket
 photo IMG_7450_zpsec1fb37b.jpg

Meanwhile, my garlic is happily just growing like, well, like a weed.  Which I can tell, because I haven’t been out to prepare the garden yet this spring, and there are plenty of weeds to compare.

Hopefully we’ll get a chance to get to work out there this week.

Photobucket
 photo IMG_7451_zps007dfeb1.jpg

Shortly after I bought this house, I went a little crazy and planted all sorts of spring bulbs in the back yard.  The first year, they were absolutely gorgeous – tulips and daffodils and hyacinths all over the place.  Since then, they’ve been sort of going downhill, and I’m not really sure why, though I suspect the bulbs need to be dug up and spread out.  Anyway, we usually do get one or two straggly flowers anyway – though they’re a little the worse for wear.

See, they’re all planted along the back fence, which is where the dog loves to jump around chasing squirrels. . .

Photobucket
 photo IMG_7452_zpsd08dfd53.jpg

My tarragon is making quite a strong comeback this year, isn’t it?  Though it looks like the chives are starting to encroach on its area – I’m going to need to do some housecleaning out there, too, I guess.

The parsley is making a similar comeback, as are the oregano, sage and (of course!) the mint.  The rosemary didn’t make it through the winter, but I didn’t really expect it to.  But there’s always a chance it’ll winter over, so I always leave it in the ground in the fall.  Can’t hurt anything, right?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’re still on our clearing-out-the-freezer quest. (I know, seriously!)  My HOPE is to have them both empty enough to at least defrost and properly organize before summer produce and smoking season.  So we’ve got a bit of a mixed bag again this week – some gorgeous weather for grilling, along with some of the “April Showers” variety.

Monday – We’re going to fire up the grill for some salmon – we stocked up when Sam’s Club had wild Copper River salmon, and we’re getting close to the end of the stash.  We’re also going to pull some green beans out of the freezer (from last year’s garden) and steam some rice.  All in all, a nice dinner

Tuesday – Another grilling day, and this time, we’re going with an old favorite – everything bagel pork tenderloin.  It’s so nice to be able to just fire up the old grill!  We’ll do some sort of potatoes inside – we’ve got a couple of favorite ways to pan-roast small spuds.  A fresh green salad will just round out the meal.

Wednesday – Frequent blog commenter Kay reminded me  that I has promised myself that we were going to do carbonnades a la flammade with polenta at least once before the end of the winter.  Well, the end of spring, anyway.  

Thursday – I’ve got a work thing – one of the local law firms is having a women’s meet-and-greet sort of thing, so I’ll miss dinner (though I have no doubt I’ll come home STARVING!).   Since I picked up a nice bunch of leeks at the market, we made a pot of creamy leek soup, which will be just lovely heated up when I get home from an evening full of lady lawyers.

Friday – And again with pizza night – we’re keeping Peeps’s in pizza, that’s for sure!  Not sure what will be on hand for my pie, but if all else fails, I’m happy with plain cheese.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - April 22, 2013

Okay, I’m kind of embarrassed to have never heard of a ramp before …

I love seeing all your garden happenings! I just recently planted a garlic bulb in a pot. It has rooted! I bought zucchini seedlings today. I’m hoping if I plant them early, maybe I can avoid the evil squash bugs of recent years.

Have a good week!

Toy Lady - April 23, 2013

I’d never heard of ramps before a couple of years ago, either – I suspect it may be a regional sort of thing.

Isn’t the whole garlic thing cool! 😀

2. Judy Norton - April 24, 2013

happy dance…it is garden time again for you! DD and I got some potting plants yesterday to be planted soon. Of course it is going to freeze tonight so had to baby them already and they are not even in the ground. On another spring note: ATTENTION: I have had a hummer yesterday and today. Early for here but maybe I am catching the harbingers as I had my feeder up already. I hold my breath every year until they show up. I love the hummers! I will look forward to gardening pictures and updates. It will happen.

Toy Lady - April 24, 2013

we saw a woodpecker in the tree the other day – I’ve heard them but never seen one before. Yay spring! 🙂


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

