jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 05.06.2013 Edition May 6, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in Food, meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_7456_zpsc1d1bad8.jpg

Ah, a glorious weekend, with a wonderful trip to the Public Market!

Although I’d planned to wait a week or two to start filling the garden, I did pick up the seed potatoes I’d ordered a couple of months ago – and then I could not resist a couple of plants for the herb garden – but the bulk of my garden plant buying will take place next weekend.

One thing I was THRILLED to find was fresh, local asparagus!  I’ve been seeing it for several weeks, but it’s all been shipped in.  I prefer to wait for the local stuff that was picked the day before I bought it – and who can blame me?

Yay – roasted asparagus this weekend!

 Photobucket

 photo IMG_7454_zps1b787363.jpg

Well, I had a bit of a lull at work, so I took a couple of days of vacation time – goodness knows I’ve needed it!

I mostly puttered around, got my hair cut, had a doctor’s appointment, that sort of thing.

But, with the absolutely stellar weather we’ve been enjoying, I did make time each day to pour myself a frosty beverage (usually icewater) and sit out on the deck for a while and just knit.  Although those Christmas socks aren’t going to knit themselves, I’ve got half a year for that.  For now, I’m working on a pair for myself.

Judy, aren’t you proud of me?

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7461_zps90a90ac1.jpg

The kale and lettuce that I planted last week?  Yup, it’s up.

I started some celery seeds, too, in the house, but I’m not so sure about them.  They’re up, but I think I was a bit late starting them – like a couple of months.  And I think celery takes a little more fussing than I realized.  I don’t know what they’re going to do.

Anyone out there ever (successfully) grow celery?  Or should I just put peppers in instead?

Photobucket
 photo IMG_7462_zpsdae0d94c.jpg

Several years ago, a friend gave me a few ferns that she’d dug out of her back yard.

All I really know about ferns is that they like shady, damp spots, so I planted them along the edge of under the deck, the idea being that, eventually they’d spread  and fill in that area, and we’d remove the skirting.  (The operative word being “eventually.”)

 photo IMG_7465_zps917f517a.jpg

Well, they spread all right – right into the herb garden!  I have no idea how they got there, or WHY they thought they wanted to live with the tarragon, but we dug two baby ferns up and transplanted them back to their under-the-deck home.

They survived the night, anyway.  I do think they’ll be much happier there, too.

Photobucket
 photo IMG_7474_zpse2e2acbf.jpg

Minerva Kitty had herself quite the adventure this weekend!

Peeps had the back door open, and she scooted out and made a run for it!  She does that about once a year – I think she goes out, plays Jungle Kitty for an hour or so, then has enough and hangs around until someone lets her in, though we do worry about her while she’s gone – she’s not as young as she once was, you know!

So anyway, she ran outside, hung around underneath the neighbors’ camper playing  Jungle Kitty for a bit, and came back in.

Whew!

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7464_zps41703542.jpg

I spent a bit of time imposing order on the herb garden this weekend, too.  I finally dug up about half of the oregano and moved it over to the other side of the yard.  Basically, I don’t care what it does over there – if it survives (as if anything will kill it!) it’ll make a perfectly fine (and fragrant) ground cover around the holly bush.  And meanwhile, the remaining oregano now has room to grow again.

I thinned out the thyme, too, and trimmed the sage.  I also gave the mint a good warning.

And I put four (FOUR!) dill plants in (they came in a 4-pack, so why not) and a couple of rosemary plants.  Still to go – 4 more parsley plants, a few basils, and a couple of marjoram plants.  That should do it for this year..

Photobucket
 photo IMG_7475_zpsb6586ad7.jpg

A couple of years ago, I picked up this cute little chest at a fundraiser.  I think it was supposed to be a toy chest, but, well, I really don’t need a place for toys, and I’d planned to use it to store hats and gloves and such in the front entry.

Well, I never got around to finishing it, and with the new bathroom and closet out there, there’s just not a good spot for it.

So I’ve decided that Jar needs a new elevated feeder. His current one, well, I hate it.  It’s ugly, it’s not sturdy, and have I mentioned that I don’t like it? So I cut a couple of dish-sized holes in the lid, and over the next couple of weeks, I’ll be sanding (a LOT), priming, painting, then polyurethaning this little chest.

I can’t wait to get it done!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.    After the chilly, lame spring we’ve had, we are LOVING this gorgeous stretch!  I mean, will you LOOK at this? Truly, does it get any better?

 photo 7_day_zps2e74dfa7.jpg

Monday –  We watched a recent episode of America’s Test Kitchen, where they grilled a turkey.  On the actual grill!  When we saw that, we had to ask – how easy would it be to grill a chicken the same way?  (Answer:  I’ll let you know!)  A little steamed broccoli, and some sweet potatoes that we have hanging around in the freezer, and we should be set!

Tuesday – Jar’s got a vet’s appointment so we want dinner to be reasonably quick.   I picked up some nice whole wheat rolls at the public market, so we put together a small batch of Italian sausage – and I think there’s  some provolone in the fridge, which will be perfect.  We also made some coleslaw with some cabbage that was knocking around and the last of the mayo.

And because I can’t get the Tuesday Afternoon appointment out of my mind:

Wednesday –  Since we were making sausage, we took the rest of the pork shoulder and hacked it up, some of which will go to make souvlaki.  I’m going to try pan-braising some potatoes with lemon and herbs – I’ll let you know on that, too.   We are also going try making some pitas with Peeps’s baguette dough.  Fingers crossed.

Thursday – Have I mentioned that one of the things I do on our morning walks is listen to podcasts?  Yeah, and one of them is The Splendid Table.  One of the guests discussed Indian food, specifically dal, which is, apparently, not just lentils!  This particular recipe sounded really good (and easy!) and call for split peas, which  we happen have a surplus of from last fall.  I also hope to get ambitious enough to make some naan.

Friday – As always, Friday night is pizza night – if there’s something leftover that will go nicely on pizza, it’ll be on mine, otherwise I think I’ll go with roasted artichokes and provolone.   Peeps and his mom usually opt for the basic pepperoni and cheese.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Rona - May 6, 2013

I totally love the look of your vegetables. I’m so looking forward to getting to the market this weekend.

Toy Lady - May 6, 2013

Go early – we got there before 7 Saturday, and it was a MOB SCENE!

Gonna have to sort the dog out and start getting down there a little earlier again, I guess. 😕

2. Susan - May 6, 2013

When I first looked at your blue socks pic, I thought you were knitting a bikini top! LOL!!!
You mentioned the stellar weather….I thought you were getting ready for some summer fun 🙂

Toy Lady - May 6, 2013

Trust me, Susan – me in a bikini top would NOT be fun! 😉

3. Judy Norton - May 7, 2013

What a fun read! Spring popping out all over. Silly Kitty playing jungle. I am sure she loved it. The knitting! I have total faith in you to cover everyone’s feet on schedule. The food speaks for itself as does the market! And the soon to be Jar’s feeding station is a great reuse.

Of course you worked in the garden. How could you not? I think your couple of days off worked for you as you sound chipper. Good. It has been a LONG winter.

Toy Lady - May 8, 2013

And now – NOW they’re calling for rain! 😕

I’m still taking Monday and Tuesday off, though. 😉

4. Pary Moppins - May 7, 2013

Sounds like a great menu, as per usual. 🙂 You are super crafty this week as well with the cute socks and repurposed chest. Total domestic diva.

Toy Lady - May 8, 2013

Yeah, that’s me – domestic diva. 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

