jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 05.27.2013 Late Edition May 28, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

I hope we’ve all enjoyed the long, busy weekend, and I do hope you took a moment to remember our fallen soldiers – both in wars past and present.

Flanders Fields

Photobucket

I actually don’t have much to report this week – it’s been a long, LONG week!

Peeps’s mom is home from the hospital, though still uncomfortable.  We’ve been checking in with her daily and bringing her meals – at least we can make sure she’s getting something decent to eat!

My mother is doing well – she’s still a little sore, too,from  her recent medical procedure, but she’s feel better each day, so that’s good.

The pets are behaving, for the most part.  I think they realize  that I am In No Mood.

The Boy is getting ever closer to getting his Project Car finished and out of our garage – it can’t be much more than another 6 months or so. . .

Oh, and The Ravioli Shop has closed its retail stores, leaving Peeps job-less for the moment.  He’ll apply for unemployment insurance, so there’s that, hopefully, until something else comes up.

In the meantime, though, I’m putting together quite the honey-do list, let me tell you!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  For now, anyway, we’re bringing dinner over to Peeps’s mom – how long that’s going to last, I couldn’t say.  But we’re trying to keep things fairly simple, healthy, and tasty for her (as well as for us).

Monday – Since we spent Sunday with my family enjoying a cookout, we decided to pass on the hot dogs and burgers for Memorial Day – we’ll grill some whitefish and some local asparagus, as well as what may be the last of the fingerling potatoes for the year.

Tuesday – Okay, so I’m not giving up the hot dogs – they were on sale, after all!  We’ll have white hots, leftover macaroni salad, and some tossed salad with whatever homemade dressing is knocking around in the fridge.

Wednesday – We had some meaty beans  leftover from last week, so we’ll have it for dinner again.  I’ve also got some broccoli in the fridge that should get finished, that will work well enough with the beans, I guess.  All kinds of healthy for Peeps’s mom, too!

Thursday – Peeps managed to grab a couple of pounds of ravioli before the stores closed, so why not?  Maybe even sing Auld Lang Syne.  Or not.

Friday – My boss offered me a pair of theatre tickets for Friday night, and since we don’t have to get up at 4AM Saturday morning (you know what?  Yay for unemployment!), we’ll grab dinner out, go see Midsumer Night’s Dream, and pizza night is going to be moved to Saturday night.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - May 28, 2013

Glad to hear both moms are on the mend. And I’m glad you get to take in a little Shakespeare and some fun/relaxation this weekend. Enjoy! You deserve it 🙂

Toy Lady - May 29, 2013

Thanks – I’m looking forward to it!

2. kayatthekeyboard - May 28, 2013

Tell Peeps welcome to the world of unemployment. I’d love it, if it paid worth a damn….

Toy Lady - May 29, 2013

If it paid at all well, I’d give it a shot . . .

3. Judy Norton - May 30, 2013

My week has gotten away from me for some reason. Hope yours is going well and you guys enjoy your night out! Hopefully Peeps won’t have any problem with his paperwork and that he gets started on your list real soon. Glad both the Moms are on the mend and the pets are lying low.

Toy Lady - June 3, 2013

Oh, gosh, Judy, it looks like mine has gotten away from me, too! And oh boy, now we’re getting into MY busy season. . . 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

