jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 07.01.2013 Edition July 1, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in Big Lug, meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_7633_zps711a63f0.jpg

The public market is starting to really hop!

It seems that every week, I come home with more and more fresh produce – it’s a good thing Peeps is home on Saturdays now to help me carry all the bags in!

(AND it’s a good thing I keep buying all these re-usable bags, even though I know full well that I need the plastic bags for walking the dog!)

 photo IMG_7634_zps55fff6ec.jpg

I’m the first to admit that sometimes I may get a little carried away – but really, how can I resist fresh lettuce, the first of the mustard greens, or a bunch of beautiful beets?

Photobucket
 photo IMG_7624_zpsaaf6465d.jpg

I got a call the other day at work from the Boy – he was on his way to work, and his car was hit by someone who was speeding.

Fortunately he’s fine, but that car?

 photo IMG_7623_zps9c1fd0e1.jpg

I don’t think he’ll be driving that anymore.  And honestly, I really didn’t need to see it – it’s actually worse than the photos look.  And my little boy was in there!

Fortunately, his new job is about a mile from my office, so he’ll be riding to work with me for a few days, until he gets his car situation sorted out.

Photobucket
 photo IMG_7635_zps1b128d21.jpg

We were finally able to pick up a bag of “big dog” bones this week at the market – yay!  Usually, the butcher has either not had any, or we’ve gotten there too late, and he’s been sold out.

Not so this week, though!  Boy, we no sooner walked in the door than old Jarly had his big old nose planted in one of the bags, and he wouldn’t go away until he got what he was looking for!
 photo IMG_7650_zpsb1f90ab3.jpg

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7622_zps6d1e5054.jpg

I dragged Peeps out with me one morning this week to pick strawberries.

I’ll say one thing about strawberry picking, and it’s the same thing I say every year — I am getting TOO OLD for this!

We had SUCH a busy morning that day – I walked the dog, piled him in the car and we took him to the beach for a quick swim, then we came home and fed both beasties, then we went out and picked strawberries, came home, and I showered and was at work by 10.

It helped that we picked 9 quarts in the space of about half an hour!

Photobucket

Mary, Mary, quite contrary, how does your garden grow?

 photo IMG_7644_zps65e5be3b.jpg

The herb garden is mostly out of control – as usual!  Lavendar is blooming, and the mint, oregano and tarragon are all trying take over. The rosemary is doing all right, and last year’s parsley has bolted.  The basil, though, is pitiful.  I don’t know what’s up with that.

 photo IMG_7645_zps3d4aeee6.jpg

I not only have blossoms, I have baby green beans!  It’s only a matter of days, now, before I’m out there picking beans, isn’t it?  I’m still trying to decide whether or not to put another row of beans in once the lettuce is done. . .

 photo IMG_7647_zpsd574e271.jpg

Oh, but wait – not just baby beans, but baby TOMATOES!!!  There are wee little green cherry tomatoes, JetStars, romas  almost all of the plants have babies!  BLTs, here I come!

 photo IMG_7648_zps3b308e44.jpg

And then there’s the one (going on two!) wee little green pepper.  There was another, on another plant, but it sort of shriveled up and fell off.  I don’t know – I’ve not grown many green peppers.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan. The weather forecast calls for, basically, warm and humid in the mornings, with possible random pop-up showers in the afternoons.

 photo 7_day_zps997d9c35.jpg

Whenever they forecast “popup showers” I always think of “popup videos.”  Does anyone else ever do that?

Monday – Our fried rice last week we quite good, but we only used half the package of Chinese pork.  Rather than let it go to waste, I’m going to do some sort of Asian-esque frittata-type thing.  I’m thinking a few eggs, scrambled, maybe with some sliced potatoes (or hey, maybe even cooked noodles!) and the Chinese pork, some peas, scallions, and then bake the whole mess.   Thoughts?

Tuesday – We made this split pea curry a while back and were very happy with it – it really was delightful!  And since we only used half the package of peas, we decided to use the other half and make it again.

Wednesday – When we were at the public market Saturday, we saw the bean guy – he’s starting to wind up for the season, I guess, but I’m going to have to restrain myself this year – I went WAY overboard on beans last year!  However, it was chilly and rainy that morning, and he did suggest that it might be a good day to make some chili, and you know, he was right!  We made a big old pot of chili Saturday, and we’ll be enjoying that again Wednesday.

Thursday –  Thursday is the 4th – which means picnic and family.  I assume it does, anyway  – if my mother’s not expecting us, either we’ll surprise her (ha!) or we’ll grill some hot dogs or something.

Friday – And once again, pizza night rolls around!  Peeps tried some Italian  00 flour for the crust last week (he picked up one package on quick sale the other day), and it was phenomenal.  We may have to see if we can source that a little more inexpensively than (ahem) $3 a kilo. . . but still.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Yinzerella - July 1, 2013

So with you on the pop-up shower/pop-up video thing!!!

Toy Lady - July 2, 2013

I know, and then that gets stuck in my head . . . !

2. sjbraun - July 1, 2013

The berries look lovely, as does your herb garden. I know what you mean about getting too old — I was just out hoeing/weeding recently and had that very thought. It does not get easier! So glad your son is okay. That car does look scary — close to the driver too!

Toy Lady - July 2, 2013

Oh, you would not BELIEVE the fantastic roasted strawberry frozen yogurt I made, too – kind of makes me wish I’d kept more out of the freezer! 🙂 BUT the summer is young, and there are tons of other fruits to come – fruits that, maybe, aren’t so low to the ground. 😉

3. Judy Norton - July 3, 2013

Oh those strawberries are beautiful! and I love the baby everything in the early garden! I do not know how you can get so much done BEFORE 10 a.m. Those pictures of The Boy’s car really are scary and it is a wonder he was not hurt. He was very lucky. Menus are looking seriously good so enjoy every bite and have a wonderful 4th of July.

Toy Lady - July 7, 2013

Don’t forget, Judy, I still get up early! 😀

And hey, I’m going to be picking green beans ANY MINUTE now, too!

The Boy has (hopefully) sorted out his car situation – he got a down payment from the insurance company, and he’s arranging financing for another Honda. And yeah, the whole thing was scary, wasn’t it? 😯

4. kayatthekeyboard - July 4, 2013

Give me your email, and I’ll send you the recipe I snatched from the Interwebs for Strawberry Balsamic Bacon Pizza. I found it just about the time strawberries were running out, and haven’t used it, but it sounds interesting.

I’ve relocated (a temporary stop on my way to wherever I’m going, first of August), and am learning a new Farmers’ Market. So far, on the strength of a weekday afternoon, I’m pretty impressed. Sweet corn has come in, as have peaches and blackberries. Green beans are in abundance, and heirloom tomatoes are just starting to bear. Oh, and squash. I can eat my weight in squash. Ditto creamed corn.

Toy Lady - July 7, 2013

Sounds like a great market! Your veggies are so far ahead of ours – we’re just starting to get blackberries and blueberries (I just got an email this week!), and I can’t even think of tomatoes or corn yet. Green beans, though, will be any minute. . .

I’d love to try the strawberry bacon pizza, Kay, thanks – use the darksideofthefridge AT gmail address – thanks! 🙂

kayatthekeyboard - July 11, 2013

Belatedly….on its way!

Toy Lady - July 11, 2013

Got it – thanks!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

