jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 07.08.2013 Edition July 8, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

I’m going to just acknowledge this right off – WOW we’re dull!

 photo IMG_7654_zps78c55c47.jpg

This time of year especially, I work a lot -I mean a LOT!  It’s the end of the fiscal year for the majority of our clients, so, everything else aside, they would all prefer to have their “year-end” invoices by, um, last week.  Even though the files aren’t closed and there’s no way to do that, sooner is definitely better than later.

We’ll get there, though.

Add to that the unusually hot-and-humid weather pattern, and for the most part, this is pretty much what we all look like when bedtime rolls around!

Photobucket

 photo image4_zpsea8255c5.jpg

One bit of news, though, for those who have been following along with the Big Lug‘s adventures.

He’s been completely off the Prozac now for two weeks – you’ll recall that after he started displaying some dog-aggression issues (then some MORE dog-aggression issues), we started him with one capsule a day.  When, after a couple of weeks, it didn’t quite take the edge off, we increased him by another, smaller, capsule in the evening.

Well, along with the meds, we’ve had him in several different classes, including a couple of rounds of off-leash obedience, and more recently, the tracking, and, gradually, he’s learned to deal well enough with the idea of other dogs (and we’ve learned to manage him better, as well!) that we’ve weaned him completely off the Prozac.

Well, as you can see by the blurry waggy tails in this photo, the medication has done its job, and he’s starting to make some new doggy friends!  I can’t even begin to express how very thrilled we are!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  The forecast seems to be more of the same – kind of hot, very humid, and pretty much daily rain. Boy, this is getting old, isn’t it?  I don’t know how people in the South do it!

 photo 7_day_zps5631909a.jpg

Monday – We were watching America’s Test Kitchen a couple of weeks ago (go figure!) and they did a grill-smoked salmon which looked (and sounded) phenomenal – and we just happen to have some salmon portions in the freezer.  We’ll saute the beet greens from last week’s market trip, and some sort of grain to be determined  – I keep buying new and different grains, and we keep forgetting about them. . . we have got to start actually eating them!

Tuesday – We pulled from the freezer what I think is the final quart of last summer’s smoked pork – after all, it’s smoking season again!   I also picked up the first of the season’s mustard greens (yummy!), and Peeps wants to mash some potatoes.

Wednesday – Assuming we can manage one day without rain, we’re going to roast a spatchcocked chicken on the grill, along with some fingerling potatoes and the beets from last week’s market trip.  And if it rains, we’ll just do it all in the oven, but I hope it doesn’t rain.

Thursday – We were going to do hot dogs over the long weekend, but we ended up taking the kids to dinner at a new Puerto Rican place instead, so we’re saving the hot dogs for Minimal Effort Thursday.  (I think I’m going to make that a Thing now – Minimal Effort Thursdays.)    Grilled hot dogs, salad, and, oh, I don’t know, maybe some mac salad or potato salad if we get any made.  Maybe I’ll be picking green beans by then.  Maybe we’ll just have a LOT of salad. . by Thursday I just don’t want to work too hard at dinner.

Friday – And look, here we are at pizza night again!  Peeps went out and picked up some more of that specialty flour, which he’s THRILLED about, so we’re looking forward to more of the extra-fantastic crusts. . . and I’ll continue to enjoy garden-fresh herbs on my pie – at least until my tomatoes come in!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. pmoppins - July 8, 2013

I like the idea of minimal effort Thursday. 🙂 So glad the Big Lug is happier now.

Toy Lady - July 10, 2013

Me too! I’m starting to feel like it’s almost like having a “normal” dog. . . 😉

2. Lana - July 8, 2013

Those of us in the south stay inside in the A/C! We were in Boston last week thogh and it was way hotter there than back home in SC!u

Toy Lady - July 10, 2013

Ack – the humidity is what gets me!

3. Jennifer at Momsgotmail - July 8, 2013

Horrible East Coast weather, rain every day…rain in the forecast nearly every day for the next 10 as well. Crazy. There isn’t much AT our farmer’s markets. I always do my salmon in foil packets with garlic and white wine…but I have been wondering about wooden planks lately.

Toy Lady - July 10, 2013

I hear you about the weather! We can’t keep up with the lawn OR the garden! I think the weather is supposed to start settling down, though, this week. . . fingers crossed. 😉

I’ve tried the cedar planks for fish, and, well, I don’t know what I think about them. The fish is good, but I’m not sure what to do with the planks. 😕 Just throw them out? Re-use them? Definitely consider the hot-smoking, though. It’s good. 🙂

4. Judy Norton - July 11, 2013

Such good news about Jar, we all need friends! Not so good about the end of year crunch or all the rain. Sincerely hope the rest of the month is better all around. Good Jar.

Toy Lady - July 11, 2013

Oh, Judy, I am SO happy about him too! I don’t think he’ll ever be completely comfortable with strange dogs, but he’s learning to deal it, and we’re learning to work with him, and I think he’ll be okay. 🙂 Work is starting to settle down, the garden is ridiculously happy, and, well, so it goes, I guess.

How’s your heat wave? Any relief for you?

5. Judy Norton - July 11, 2013

Still in the 90’s but now is monsoon time. Finally some rain and lots of humidity, Such is summer time here. Everything is just a little off everywhere.

Toy Lady - July 13, 2013

Ugh. We’re supposed to be seeing 90s again next week too. 😦


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

