jump to navigation

Monday Musings 07.15.2013 Edition July 15, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_7674_zps73157793.jpg

Another market week!  I so love our public market in the summer – more and more, I’m finding nice, local produce, and, after a few years, we get to know the vendors well enough that we know who the local farmers are, where they’re from, and whose stuff may be worth an fifty cents. . .

Now if I could only get moving early enough to get a decent parking spot!

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7663_zpsa320846f.jpg

I finally got a chance to get out to the garden the other evening – it wasn’t raining, and it wasn’t a million degrees out – and I found that, even without my supervision, the beans (not to mention the weeds!) had carried on just fine without me.

 photo IMG_7664_zpscf6e2c20.jpg

Holy cow, I don’t think I’ve ever picked this many beans at one time from two little bitty rows – my bucket was completely full!
 photo IMG_7666_zps109a52e3.jpg

And by completely full, I mean I picked 3 and 1/4 pounds – so we (of course) had fresh beans for dinner.  And we dropped some off for Peeps’s mom.  And I took some to work to share.  AND I still had a bunch left for the freezer.

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7675_zps5d966932.jpg

For the first time EVER – there was a local vendor at the public market who is an importer of truffles.

The kind they use pigs to find – THOSE truffles.  (Though these guys are from Italy and I think they use dogs.)

Since it’s something I’ve never tried before, I splurged and bought an ounce – any thoughts?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Boy, I guess when summer is here, it’s here, huh?  We’ve got yet another week of “steamy” weather – warm and humid, more pop-up thunderstorms, and even higher temperatures – oh. . . yippee!

Monday –  Well, it looks like  salmon season is starting – our supermarket had wild Alaskan coho salmon this week.  I’ve never had coho salmon, but we were so happy with the wild sockeye salmon last year that we had to give it a try!  We’ll keep it simple – probably just grilled, along with some simple grain – brown rice or barley, plus (guess what!) green beans!

Tuesday – A few weeks ago, we made a batch of souvlaki, but, since there are only the two of us, we put half the marinated meat in the freezer, which we’ll enjoy with some fresh pita, probably some grilled potatoes, and some veggie – salad, green beans, leftover beets, or some sauteed kale from the freezer.  Decisions,decisions!

Wednesday – Finally – I found fresh shelled sweet peas at the market – life is just too short to spend it shelling peas!  I am more than happy to pay an extra buck for the luxury of already-shelled peas!  Peeps reminded me that we had a small lamb roast in the freezer, which will be lovely rubbed with some sort of herby rub – say. . . mint, rosemary and marjoram (all from the garden) – then slowly grilled over charcoal.  Add some baby potatoes, and, well, you get the picture.  And believe me, we’ll make sure we’ve got leftovers, too!

Thursday – Two of the most popular things I’ve seen to do with those truffles are to shave over scrambled eggs or over pasta or risotto.  Well, I just wasn’t feeling “breakfast for dinner” – y, so we decided to go with a pot of basic risotto (using the pressure cooker – natch!).  But then Peeps mentioned that there’s a last pound of ravioli in the freezer, so we may go with that.  I guess we’ll what we’re more in the mood for.  Either way, it’ll have salad alongside it.

Friday – And here it is again, pizza night.  And again, I think the choice will be between salami and cheese or fresh herbs and cheese.   I can’t wait for my own tomatoes!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. yolande - July 17, 2013

I’m back…sort of. ThaNks for your note, meant the world. Fresh gr beans…yum nicoise salad-summer! Your guys might be italian…but black truffles tend to be french. White truffles more often italian. Anywho, eggs or pasta. (Very potent, go with one for eggs, and one for pasta)If eggs put your truffles and farm fresh eggs, still in shell into an airtight container in fridge for at least 24 hrs. Then scramble eggs or sunny up (my pref) shave truffles into scant 1/4 cup heavy cream and pour hot cream and truf over eggs. OR shirred with infused cream…reserved truffles added at last 60 seconds in oven…
Peeps can handle pasta, I am sure

Toy Lady - July 17, 2013

Thanks, Yolande – it’s good to see you! 🙂 And I am so sorry about your creperie – I know what a difficult decision that must have been – we closed our business a few years back, and it was awful.

Thanks for the tip on the truffles – I think they’re “summer truffles” – dunno. And the guy we bought them from was DEFINITELY Italian. 😉

But yes, we’re going to try one with pasta this week – love your egg suggestions, too! I’m gonna go right home this afternoon and stick a few of my egg-lady eggs in a bowl with one of them for a weekend breakfast.

I’m thinking, too, that any bits left, we’d shave (or microplane?) into some butter and stash in the freezer for out-of-season enjoyment.

Anyway . . . take care – and be good to yourself!

2. Judy Norton - July 17, 2013

Beans, beans, those beautiful beans. That is quite an impressive first pick. Guess I don’t need to ask how does the garden grow. Hope you are not in that horrible heat back east. We are cool, wet and humid. May get back to 80 today. The market reports always are fun to read. Enjoy the experimenting with new stuff.

Toy Lady - July 17, 2013

Yes, Judy, we’re definitely enjoying some toasty temperatures here! Highs in the 90s and lows in the humid 70s – blech. We’re supposed to cool down by the weekend, I think – we shall see, though.

I went out to the garden last evening, and would you believe – there were a couple of cherry tomatoes starting to turn – yay! 🙂 🙂 🙂


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

