jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 09.23.2013 Edition September 23, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_7863_zps8392b9ec.jpg

Another public market week – and again, so much is in season!  This is the kind of trip I love – I started with $18 in $1s and $5s, and, while we spent it all, everything we bought was grown locally – eggs, green peppers, cucumbers, broccoli, celery, carrots, scallions, potatoes, and pears.    Pears!

All fresh, all in season, and all local.

I kind of wish we’d brought more cash, though – the bean guy also has potatoes, and he was offering 25-lb boxes of Yukon golds for $8.  Next time.

Photobucket

It’s been a quiet week around here, for the most part.  I don’t know what, but something has gone to seed – I’ve been blowing my nose and rubbing my eyes (yes, I know I shouldn’t but they ITCH!) all week.  And poor Jarly hasn’t been much better – you should see him trying to scratch his ear with one of his big old toenails!  Poor thing. . .

It actually got so bad (for me) at one point that I drove to work, got settled in, and still felt so miserable that I turned around and came home and went to bed.

On the bright side, I’m feeling much better now – and so is Jar.  We’ve switched antihistamines, and they’ve had a chance to get into our systems.

I hate to say this, but come on, FROST!

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7866_zps6dbf49b0.jpg

Of course, while we could have also bought Honeycrisp apples at the market, it’s far more fun to go pick them ourselves, isn’t it?

I am not kidding – the two of us spent no more than 5 minutes in the apple orchard, and we walked out of there with 26.5 pounds of apples.

And as if 25+ pounds of apples weren’t enough, we also picked up a couple of gallons of freshly-pressed cider while we were there.  And MAN the cider is good this year!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Fall is definitely here, yes but we’ve still got some, if not quite summer weather, at least we’ve got sunshine to look forward to this week.  I’m not so sure we’ll get any early-morning trips to the beach in this week, but I’m not positive we won’t, either – you never know!

 photo 7_day_zpsd5014b99.jpg

Monday – I’ve got some nice chicken breasts, and I think they’ll be fantastic with lemon and oregano – we love Greek-type dishes like that.  While we’re “in” Greece, I’ve been dying to try these roast potatoes with tomatoes and smoked paprika – ever since I saw the recipe (last week).  Broccoli and fresh bread, and we’re good.

Tuesday – We slapped some of our  Koran beef on the grill last weekend, and we had more than we expected leftover.  So, in the interest of getting stuff out of the refrigerator, I’m going to put together a light Asian style soup – I’ve got some Asian chicken stock I canned last year, and we’ll add some noodles (ramen noodles with the “flavor packets” discarded), scallions, and thin-sliced cooked beef.  Simple, tasty, and did I mention easy?

Wednesday –   The last Wednesday of the month is the Food Truck Rodeo at the public market, and, since is the last one of the year, we are TOTALLY there!

Thursday – We also wanted to take advantage of the nice weather to fire up the grill (finally!), so we pulled the rest of Peeps’s homemade hot dogs out of the freezer – yay!  This time, too, I’m thinking homemade New England-style rolls made from a yogurt bread recipe that we’ve been very happy with, plus some incarnation of potatoes, and whatever green beans I can scrounge from what’s left of the garden.

Friday – Ah, pizza night!  I think the tomatoes will hold up yet one more week – I’ll miss fresh tomatoes on my pizza when I don’t have them, so I am taking advantage of every tomato I can while I can!  Peeps has also been enjoying sauce made from roasted fresh tomatoes – I’m telling you, it’s all tomatoes all the time around here, at least on Fridays!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. pmoppins - September 23, 2013

I so wish we had apple orchards down here. That seems like such a lovely fall activity. Have a great week and your menu looks yummy!

Toy Lady - September 23, 2013

How far north would you need to travel for apples? When I was a kid, my parents used to pile all of us in the van and we’d spend the day driving to Indiana, then picking blueberries for the year. It was a long day, but it was fun! 🙂

2. Wendy Klik - September 23, 2013

I just want to say….I love your writing….not even a little bit boring!! I too am a fresh food junkie and very excited that it is harvest time.

Toy Lady - September 23, 2013

Wendy, thank so much for the kind words! 🙂

I so love all the fresh fruit and vegetables this time of year – it seems like every week brings something new, doesn’t it?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

