jump to navigation

Pizza night revisited September 27, 2013

Posted by Peeps in Cooking, Home, Homemade, random stuff.
Tags: ,
trackback

About two months ago, Toys and I had to go to pick up a few things at Niblack Foods (formerly known as Tadco).  We love shopping there, they have all kinds of neat stuff that we either can’t find easily or just want to play around with.

While we were browsing, we got into a conversation with a lady who works there.  She found it very amusing that we make so many things ourselves.  We had a very nice chat.

A few minutes later, after we had continued our shopping, she came up to us and asked if we make our own pasta.  We told her that we didn’t, dried pasta is just fine for most of our needs.  She then asked if we ever make pizza.  I have to admit that I did a bit of bragging about my pizza dough.

The reason she asked these questions, was that she had a bag of flour that had gotten torn while she was stocking shelves and she wanted to know if we would like to buy it.  At a discount.  We love stuff at a discount.  And it was something that neither of us had ever played with before.  Italian 00 flour.

Now, I had never heard of 00 flour until a couple years ago when my boss at the Ravioli Shop mentioned it once in passing.  It’s a much finer grind than basic all purpose flour.  I can’t seem to find out for sure if it has a higher protein content or not, it depends on who you ask.  It’s supposed to be the bomb for breads and pasta.  And pizza dough.

So, we bought the damaged bag of flour.  It was a 2.2 pound bag (one kilogram).  A few days later, I tried it in pizza dough.

I substituted half of the all purpose flour needed with the 00 flour.  I didn’t want to use up most of the bag at one go.  I still wanted to try some in bread, too.

The dough felt entirely different.  Much lighter and tighter grained.  It was nicer to work with.  Huh.  So, I finished the dough, and got it in the fridge and promptly forgot about it until pizza night.

Friday night rolled around and it I noticed that the dough stretched beautifully.    I had to be much more careful about putting holes in it.

Once I was done, and the pizzas had a chance to rest, it was time to taste.  And it was INCREDIBLE!  The taste was everything pizza should be.  Light and crisp with a nice soft chew.

The next morning, my wife and I looked online for what kind of deal we could get for 00 flour.  And were not terribly happy.  We could get big bags of the stuff without a problem, and for a price that didn’t hurt too much.  Until you factored in shipping.  Shipping a fifty pound bag of flour hurts.  A lot.

Plus, there’s also the problem of what to do with an open fifty pound bag of flour.

So, about a week later, I went back to Niblack to see if I could get a deal there.  They had ten packs of the one kilo bags that they would give me ten percent off.  That brought the price down to something reasonable.  And I’d still be spending money locally, which is something we try to do whenever we can.  Plus, they’re not far if we need more.

So, we now have ten different kind of flour in the house.  Ten.  Yikes.  But I’m very glad we found out about 00 flour.  We now have a license to bake.

