jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 10.14.2013 Edition October 14, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

First, I need to offer apologies – this one is going to be short and sweet –   I’ll just hit the highlights:

  • Tracking class Saturday – Jar aced it.  Of course!
  • The cat is . . . well, herself.   Prancing around when she gets chance, spitting hate at the dog when she’s in the mood.
  • We finally FINALLY got one freezer defrosted – the smaller one, but it’s a start.
  • Yes, we have two freezers.
  • Went to a raw feeding seminar Sunday (most of Sunday, in fact) – I think we can look forward to some changes (for the better) in Jarly’s diet.  Wow, what an eye-opener!
  • Pear-ginger yogurt muffins are not bad at all!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And here we are once again – time for the weekly menu plan.  We’ll be featuring some buried-in-the-freezer items for the next few weeks, I’m sure – we’ve defrosted the first wave of stuff.   I’m afraid, though, this week is going to be awfully red meat- heavy.  Next week, turkey and meatless, I promise!

I’m telling you, if we were smart, we’d be eating out the freezer as long as we can, and stashing our grocery money.    Actually, we can be pretty smart sometimes!

Monday – Last weekend, we made pernil for the first (but not the last!) time – and, even though we sent some home with The Boy, we still have quite a bit left – certainly enough for Philadelphia Pork Sandwiches – as recommended by Cook’s Country.  Hey, it was either that, or shove it in the freezer, which would be counterproductive, don’t you think?

Tuesday –  We had one quart of smoked pork in the freezer, and some sauce in the fridge – Peeps will mash some potatoes (haven’t had mashed potatoes in AGES!) and we’ll toss a salad.

Wednesday –  Chuck roast becomes a full pot roast dinner – potatoes, carrots, the works.

Thursday – Found an older lamb shank in the freezer – a big one,  so I made a kind of lamb ragu with beans – I started with this recipe and tweeked it to suit my needs (what was on hand).  I think it’ll work well with some polenta that we had stashed guess where.  Yeah – the freezer.

Friday – Okay, for pizza night this week, I am staying with FRESH tomatoes!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Karen - October 16, 2013

Lamb shank – try finding those in Louisiana. EVERY great once in a while I can find them and I admit, I horde them until I have enough to make my grandma’s recipe. Want it? Here: Coat shanks in salt, pepper and garlic powder. Brown in oil until pan is scuzzy, make gravy, deglaze with white wine, add quartered onions. Serve with mashed/creamed potatoes and petite pois peas ( preferrable Dubon) And, that my friend, is the recipe as I got it and actually passed on to a native Louisianaian (?) after she had had it 3 times and got tired of asking me to make it for her to come over for dinner! The leftovers made great lamb curry/

Both my mom and grandma always insisted on domesticated, I do occassionally see new zeland lamb in the store but my higher powers always told me it was too gamey (which I cannot tolerate).

Share your wisdome in these matter with me. We’re getting ready to go to VA and DC (now that the dumbasses in congress have (potentially) passed legislation re-opening the park we have reservations to go camping in. So I might not see your reply for 12 days (lord do I need this – that would be the vacation).

Toy Lady - October 20, 2013

Karen, I’m no so sure I’ve got much wisdom when it comes to lamb – I do like it just fine but don’t indulge often – that stuff can get pricey!

Enjoy your vacation – you should be good to go, Congressional dumbasses and all! 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

