jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 10.28.2013 Edition October 28, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in canning, meal plan monday, Musings.
trackback

 photo IMG_7915_zps7c14dfca.jpg

Do you remember how, a couple of weeks ago, Peeps and I got a little carried away and picked about 50 pounds of apples?

Well, what does one do with 50 pounds of apples, anyway?

Hint:  that is a LOT of pies for two people who don’t really eat a lot of desserts. .  but I went ahead and tried a few pints of apple pie filling – it certainly has the potential to make our holiday baking easier, doesn’t it?

Also, we’re going to try some apply-good oatmeal some time this week. . . and maybe I’ll stir some into yogurt for breakfast one morning.  I hope I’m going to have enough left for pies!

Photobucket

Speaking of holidays – can you BELIEVE Halloween is just around the corner already?  We still have to pick up a big bone for Jarly – we’ve found that’s the best way for him to deal with the parade of costumed strangers stamping around on the front porch – he pretty much doesn’t care if he’s in the back yard busy with a bone!

Photobucket
 photo IMG_7917_zpsfcbfb900.jpg

So the whole apple pie filling worked so well that we decided to try a half-batch each of blueberry and cherry filling!  I’m telling you, when it comes to the holiday pie thing, I’m just going to be phoning it in this year!

And, since we were in a canning mood (not to mention a cleaning-out-the-freezer mood!) we also did a batch of chicken stock – seven quarts canned PLUS 2 quarts to use during the week.

Like I always say . . . anything worth doing is worth overdoing, you know?

Photobucket

Although we’ve been nattering on about clearing the freezers out for, oh, half a decade now (yikes!), we’ve decided that we definitely need to get serious about it.  Besides the fact that there’s an embarrassing amount of meat down there that’s not getting any younger, we really do need the space.

See, after a lot of research and consideration, we’ve decided to change Jarly’s diet to “raw.”  He’s been suffering with some tummy issues (you don’t want to know) for a while, and, really, about the only thing left that could be causing his problems is his diet.  I just don’t think dogs are built to eat grain, you know?  Or at least this one isn’t.  We’ve been testing the new diet on him for a couple of week now, and it really seems to be agreeing with him.

So. . . in less than two weeks, I’ll have just over 100 pounds of meat to find a home in the freezer for.  Wish us luck. . .

See above about “anything worth doing.”

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We haven’t done a lot of prep ahead of time this week – but hopefully it’ll all still be perfectly manageable.  We’re fairly simple anyway, right?

Monday –  You’ll recall that we roasted a chicken last week, which was fantastic.  There is the added benefit of leftover chicken, which, in this case, means Moravian Chicken Pie.  Since that’s become one of our all-time favorites, well, who’s going to complain?  I’ll steam some of the green beans we froze this summer, just to make sure we’re getting our veggies, too!

Tuesday – Our supermarket had Alaskan whitefish on sale, so we picked up just enough for dinner – we’re thinking some sort of crispy baked fish thing – not exactly sure what yet.  It’ll go nicely with some sort of grain (sorting out the rice/bean/grain shelf in the pantry is definitely on my list of things to do when I have all the time in the world. . . ) and some pan-roasted broccoli which, I think, will be very nice with some of the lemon-garlic vinaigrette I made the other day.

Wednesday – Oh my gosh, we have this FAVORITE fall recipe for cider-glazed pork chops – we always use fresh cider, and since we can only get that in the fall (unless we freeze some) we try to make it a point to make this when we can.  We had ONE package of pork chops in the freezer, and it’s close to the last week the apple place will be open, so . . . it’s like it’s fate.  Plus I’ve got some Brussels sprouts that need roasting and will be perfect with the sweet chops and with some homely veggie mash that we’d stashed in the freezer.

Thursday –  We also roasted a turkey breast last weekend AND sauteed some kale, both of which left us with leftovers.  Then I stumbled upon a recipe for Avgolemono Soup With Chicken, Rice & Kale – I figure turkey’s pretty interchangeable with chicken, and the leftover cooked kale is just kind of a short cut.

Friday – The tomatoes are done, sadly, so for pizza night it’s homemade sauce for me – either roasted tomato or roasted eggplant – either one is very, very good.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. jillyinmn - October 28, 2013

Oh I would love your recipe for cider glazed pork chops, those sound heavenly! Great fall meal with some acorn squash and rice!

Toy Lady - October 28, 2013

You know, every time I put them on the menu, I search the blog and say “oh my gosh I can’t believe I haven’t posted this yet – I’m going to have to do something about that” – and then I don’t know what happens. Getting old, I guess. 😉 Now I guess I’m committed, huh? 🙂

2. judy norton - October 29, 2013

I can only imagine how wonderful your house must smell on the weekends when you are canning, putting up, baking and braising, etc, etc. Too bad you can’t can the smell and sell to those of us who don’t do all of that but wish we had the memories of the smells. 🙂

Toy Lady - October 31, 2013

I’m telling you, Judy, you ever find yourself on this end of the country, you’ve got an open invitation! We’ll bake and braise and smoke just feed you into oblivion! 🙂

judy norton - October 31, 2013

Maybe I will surprise you one of these daze. That is quite an invitation. ty

Toy Lady - November 1, 2013

🙂 You’re always welcome!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

