jump to navigation

They, well, they’re just DUMB November 14, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in just general griping, mirth & woe, random stuff.
trackback

The DMV, that is.

I know, I know, that shouldn’t come as a surprise to me, and, really, it doesn’t.  Or at least, not completely.  After all, surely you remember the incident last summer – The Boy had gone online to obtain a copy of his driving abstract for traffic court, and not only was the abstract available on the website, the State thoughtfully spent our tax dollars to mail him a copy, as well.

Oh, but wait, there’s more!

Since it was a two-page document, did they send a 2-sided copy?

Why no, they didn’t.

They sent each page in its own separate envelope, thereby incurring twice the costs in paper, envelopes, and postage.

Clearly, the DMV is the reason the Post Office is still in business.

But I digress.

Here in New York (and I assume everywhere else), we are required to pay the State for the privilege of owning, insuring, maintaining, and fueling a car.

(And, to add insult to, pretty much, more insult, I was charged  $64 for a “Registration Fee” AND an additional $20 “Use Tax.”  I’m sorry, but isn’t the Registration Fee already a de facto Use Tax?  How stupid do they think I am, anyway?)

Okay, I’m back.  I haven’t even gotten to the REALLY sorry part.

An aside:  our County Executive has been very good about bringing attention to the fact that, if you do your DMV transactions in person, at the local Motor Vehicle offices, a portion of those punitive fees will at least stay in our County – basically, the County skims off a few cents to help pay for some of the stuff that’s mandated by (guess who) the State.  My philosophy is that the closer to home I spend my money, the better for everyone, so I make it a point to do my DMV transactions locally.

Since my $84 Registration Fee – slash – Use Tax is due by next Saturday, and since Peeps is currently home during the day, he graciously offered to take care of that task for me while he was running other errands.  Wasn’t that nice of him?

So, he got up and out bright and early (he even scraped ice off of his windshield!) in order to beat the Tuesday-after-a-Monday-holiday crowd, and presented himself at the DMV, signed documents in one hand and debit card in the other.

So he took care of business, and, when he presented his card, he was asked to sign a form authorizing me to use his card.

Note:  I was not even there, and I have not, at any time, used his card.  Ever.  For any reason.

Didn’t matter.  His card was paying for my stuff, so, as far as they were concerned, he was me, I guess, using his card.

Well, fine.  Just fine.

Then, when he was all done pretending to me using his card, well, THEN they told him that since it was HIM and not ME, they would mail the current registration card and sticker to me sometime next week.  You know, since he wasn’t me using his card anymore, he was him renewing my registration.

Then they told him to “put his left foot in.”

I just made that last bit up.

But seriously.  Peeps – my LAWFUL SPOUSE  – while trying to be a good citizen and member of the community, went to the DMV with my paperwork, waited in line, was ludicrously required to authorize himself to use his debit card, paid over Eighty-Four of my hard-earned dollars to renew my car registration, and then they wouldn’t let him take the materials – that he had just paid for – that would keep me driving legally.

Can I take a moment here and mention that nowhere on the renewal paperwork I received was I warned that I was supposed to either show up in person, or I’d have to wait heaven-knows-how-long for Albany to (hopefully) mail me the new documents.  Nowhere.

And you know what’s even worse?

When he asked for a receipt (just in case I got pulled over, which I wouldn’t, of course, but you can’t be too careful)  he asked for a receipt, at the very least, and he was told that that would be mailed along with the new cards.

So you do know what’s going to happen now, don’t you?

We’re going to have an unseasonably warm, sunny day next week, I’m going to be driving around with my expired tags, and there will be no real crime in the area, so the police will set up a road block to check stickers in their favorite place – the on-ramp to the highway, just outside my office.

And I’m going to have to explain this.

Comments

1. judy norton - November 14, 2013

I wish I could say this is hard to believe, but I can’t say that because I believe every word you wrote. It seems like “people” are getting more angry and upset and depressed these days and I believe that this kind of “government” crap is one of the reasons. It isn’t even what we must do to cover all the bases, it is the PROCESS that we must go through over and over that just does not make sense and exhausts us. It is busy work for the employees, ensuring one more person has a “job” and over regulation of everything that may not even have to be so regulated. UGGGGGGGG

Toy Lady - November 14, 2013

Judy, you are SO right! The government gets more and more . . . bureaucratic, I guess, and it’s causing more and more frustration. They forget – THEY work for US, don’t they?

2. Anne - November 14, 2013

That made my brain hurt. Do you have another way to get to work, to avoid the inevitable traffic stop? Vacation, perhaps? 🙂

Toy Lady - November 15, 2013

Oh, vacation, if only. 🙄 Our secretary is out next week, and the boss is out the week after, so I’m playing Cinderella again, while everyone else goes to the ball. Or whatever they’re doing. 😉

I can certainly bypass that ramp and get on the highway a couple of miles from here. but that’s assuming I remember. My memory’s not what it used to be, you know!

3. Ann Marie - November 15, 2013

Here for our yearly renual I paid
Pink slip – road worthy $ 35
Green slip -insurance ( this is separate to insuring your vehicle) $320
Blue slip- registration $480
NSW AUSTRALIA

Toy Lady - November 15, 2013

And that’s EVERY YEAR? 😯 Oh my GOSH!

I can hardly believe there’s actually a place in the world with MORE taxes than New York! 😯

That’s just so wrong.

4. Monday Musings: 11.18.2013 Edition | Dark Side of the Fridge - November 18, 2013

[…] and you’ll be just as relieved as I was to find out that my registration sticker arrived with Saturday’s mail – the actual day the old one […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

