jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 10.25.2013 Edition November 25, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in 101 Things, Family, meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_7973_zpsd88a8f87.jpg

Isn’t this charming?  Actual SNOW covering the actual GROUND.

Well, we knew it was coming – after all, we live in upstate New York – of course it’s going to snow!  And really, it’s not that bad – it was only a light coating, and we’ve got our boots and our coats and our gloves – our morning walk was . . . brisk.

Yeah that’s it.  Brisk.

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7968_zps9b2edf15.jpg

Jarly’s switch to raw feeding has been going very well for him.  Last week’s introduction to pork was uneventful – he liked it just fine, and he had absolutely no problems with it – yay.

He’s also been enjoying some turkey – Thanksgiving came early for him, I guess!  We bought a case of turkey wings, and we used some to make turkey stock (that’ll be so good for the gravy on Thanksgiving Day, won’t it?) – and the rest were divided up for future meals for the dog.

We discovered early on, though, that some hunks of meat – the stuff with bones, mostly – are apparently better enjoyed in the living room.  It’s just a good thing we’ve got an old blanket handy that he can use!

Photobucket
 photo IMG_7969_zpse03670da.jpg

So I mentioned that we made a batch of turkey stock.  Once the wings had cooled, I picked the big whacking hunks of turkey meat off of the bones and have been using that for treats.

I’m telling you, I still can’t get over just how well the two of them are doing!  Generally, they’re happy to lie this close to each other and just take turns getting their treats – I usually cue first one, then the other to look at me by saying their name.  Usually Minerva Kitty is purring up a storm, just gobbling up her bits of yummy turkey, knowing The Jar is mere inches away from her.

After their initial introduction, I never would have expected it.  Amazing, huh?

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7972_zps910e196c.jpg

Oh, hey, remember my 101 Things List?  Yeah, I know it’s been a while, but I haven’t forgotten about it.  Really.

I finally found a handbag I like – is that exciting or what?  I have problems in that area – they’re either boring, or they wear out too soon, or they’re too big (and I look like an old lady carrying a “pocketbook” around) or they’re too small (and all my stuff doesn’t fit) or they don’t have enough pockets (and everything’s all jumbled together in there) or they have too many pockets (and I can’t FIND anything) . . . it’s been an ongoing challenge for a long time!

BUT I finally found one – it’s a nice, soft leather, with a light colored lining (so I can actually SEE when I’m rummaging around in there!), and I went a little crazy and bought the “burgundy” color instead of my normal “black” – not even for a minute considering that it would match my winter coat almost perfectly!

Don’t you love it when things work out like that?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It feels like a short week with the Thanksgiving holiday on Thursday, doesn’t it?  However, it’s going to be a chilly one!

 photo 7_day-large_zps7b39ec29.jpg

Monday –  Finally – a big pot of split pea soup!  It’s almost done cooking – just needs to reheat and finish cooking in the CrockPot for a couple of hours.  We should also have some nice leftovers, either for lunches or a weekend supper.

Tuesday – Do you know what we haven’t made in a while?  Cinnamon and honey chicken tenders – and I think they’ll be really good either with some leftover butternut squash (if it’s still leftover by then) or maybe some sweet potatoes.  And maybe some potatoes or something non-sweet.

Wednesday – Well, even though Thanksgiving is mere days away, we still went ahead and roasted a pork shoulder.  This is SUCH a great meal, and we’ll have plenty of leftovers.  Plus, it’s a perfect match for the veggie mash that we love so much.  And hey, maybe a green salad because, well, why not?

Thursday – Thanksgiving!  We’re driving to my parents’ house for the day, so no turkey here (though we did pick up a few for the freezer for later) – we’ll be bringing a couple of pies  (apple, peach, grape, and that’s probably it, since Peeps tells me that any more than that would be “going overboard”), a sweet potato casserole, and rolls.   Lots of rolls.  Oh yeah, and turkey stock to go in the gravy.

Friday – Friday is pizza night as usual.  I would imagine that it’ll be the basics – sauce, cheese and pepperoni for Peeps and just cheese and either olive oil or sauce for me.  Jarly will, as always, enjoy a frozen stuffed Kong for pizza night.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. jehdld - November 25, 2013

I’ve never had grape pie. Do you use a particular kind of grape? Sounds really interesting and like something I need to attempt. Love the handbag and how it matches your coat.

Toy Lady - November 25, 2013

Apparently grape pie is fairly regional, from what I understand. I use concord grapes – the kind used commercially for grape jelly and juice. There’s a bit of a production involved – see my earlier post – but SO worth it!

2. Susan - November 25, 2013

Snow? ughh!!! We’ve had flurries, but yours looks like a legitimate ground covering 😦 I really hope the icky weather of the past week or so doesn’t portend a severe winter. I must do some reading — I missed the new kitty! That is so sweet! Happy Thanksgiving to you, Peeps, and the whole crew!

Toy Lady - November 25, 2013

New kitty? That’s not a new kitty – that’s our old cranky-butt kitty! It seems that she’s slightly less cranky when there’s a pile of cooked turkey to be had. 🙂

Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, too, Susan!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

