jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 12.23.2013 Edition December 23, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in Family, Holidays Countdown, meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_8028_zps1fa6a767.jpg

Holy cow!  Can you believe it’s only a couple of days until Christmas?  Where does the time go?

As is our norm, we waited until this week to get a wee little Christmas tree – there are just the two of us at home these days, and between the cat and the dog, decorating a full-sized  tree is just asking for trouble!

We like to pick up a live, potted tree.  After the holidays, it’ll get moved outside, to a somewhat sheltered spot, to wait for spring, when we’ll plant it in the yard.  So far, only one former Christmas tree has survived for us, but we like to at least try.

Photobucket
 photo IMG_8031_zps42b0c1e4.jpg

As has been our tradition for the past few years, Peeps and I are cooking Christmas dinner for the family – at my parents’ house.  We get a chance to cook a big dinner (in a big kitchen!), and my mother gets a chance to relax for the holiday – it’s kind of a win-win for everyone!

I’m taking the next couple of days as vacation time in order to do as much of the prep as I can – and we started this weekend with cleaning the two branches of Brussels sprouts I picked up for the meal.

What?  Roasted Brussels spouts are delicious!

So what do you think of the menu?

  • Prime rib roast (with au jus? undecided)
  • Dijon -horseradish sauce
  • Individual Yorkshire puddings
  • Mashed potato casserole (with cheese!)
  • Roasted Brussels sprouts with carrots and parsnips
  • Orange sweet potatoes
  • Cannoli cheesecake

My sister has offered to bake rolls, and my mother will be making another dessert of some sort – our cheesecake was kind of an afterthought.

I’ve got my work cut out for me the next couple of days, wouldn’t you say?

Photobucket

 photo IMG_8035_zps0bf6327e.jpg

And we suddenly remembered this weekend that, while we don’t mind loading up the car and spending an hour and a half on the road, the Big Furry Toddler isn’t a big fan of the ride.  I think he gets bored and lonely in the back of the station wagon.

So. .  . we made a special trip to the butcher shop for a couple of nice marrow bones for the ride.

He is a fan of big juicy bones!

Here’s hoping for a peaceful road trip.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Of course, we’ve got Christmas this week, with all the associated merry-making, not to mention the pre-holiday workload, so meals this will, well, let’s just say they’re all over the place.

Monday – We’ve still got a bowl of the Tuscan pork with beans left over from last week – we love that stuff!   I think I may cook some pasta to go with it, and maybe saute some kale  You know, kind of healthy it up with green stuff!

Tuesday –  And here it is, Christmas Eve already.  We’ve got reservations to take The Boy and his young lady for dinner at a local place, Mario’s – the buffet is based on the Italian Feast of the Seven Fishes, and while that’s all very good, there are plenty of non-seafood items, as well.

Wednesday –  Christmas Day at last!  I’ve already shared the menu for that meal – it’s going to be a long, full day, with too much food, but after all, that’s part of Christmas, right?

Thursday – Because we apparently didn’t have enough to do this weekend, we also roasted a turkey that we’d pulled from the freezer last week (we’ve got a dog food delivery coming up soon – gotta make room!) – so, as is also our habit, we’re going to be enjoying hot turkey sandwiches – a simple, relaxing post-holiday dinner, wouldn’t you say?

Friday – And pizza night comes around again!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. mazco34 - December 23, 2013

Cathy and I were looking to get a bigger tree this year. We already have two artificial trees, but they’re just not as pretty as the one we lost in a storm about 5 years ago (the only year I stored it in the basement). We want something about 7 feet and pretty wide. Both trees now are somewhat narrow. But we decided to wait until next year.

Merry Christmas to you and a big “Humbug” to Peeps.

Toy Lady - December 27, 2013

Maz, I hear that artificial tree technology is improving all the time – I’ve never had one, so I can’t say. 🙂 I did spend a few years working at a Christmas tree farm a LONG time ago, so I guess I’m a little biased.

Best wishes to you and Cathy for the holiday season, too!

2. judy - December 23, 2013

Your dinner sounds wonderful and I can only imagine the tastes and smells. And Jar with special bones. Kitty will probably just be glad to be able to roam the house without keeping her eye out for Jar. 🙂 You all have a very Merry Christmas and travel safe. I hope Santa is good to you all. Your dinner with The Boy and his lovely sounds good too. judy

Toy Lady - December 27, 2013

Oh, Judy, I hope you’re enjoying the holidays too – and you’re right, Kitty has a grand time when nobody’s home! On top of that, when we know we’re going to be late, she gets fed extra, too – she’s still STARVING when we get home, but I’m pretty sure that’s mostly an act. 😉

3. kayatthekeyboard - December 25, 2013

Inquiring minds want to know more about cannoli cheesecake. Although my white chocolate cherry cheesecake today was pretty magnif. Merry Christmas to you!

Toy Lady - December 27, 2013

Oh yes, Kay, cannoli cheesecake. 🙂 Now I’d love to see it side by side with your white chocolate cherry deal. . .

I found the recipe a few years ago and made the mistake of just making it for us. NOBODY needs to have a whole cannoli cheesecake in the house. Ever. 😯


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

