jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 01.06.2013 Edition January 6, 2014

Posted by Toy Lady in Big Lug, Cooking, Home, meal plan monday, Musings.
trackback

 photo IMG_20140103_145558_zps36fafffb.jpg

Wow, has it been a week, or what?

Oh, by the way, happy New Year!  Sorry about that, but, well, what a week!

We, uh, got a bit of snow in these parts – I declared last Friday to be a snow day – I don’t know if my office was open or not, but I didn’t go in!  When the snow is in double digits (20+ inches) and the temperature is single digits (5), well, I’m not going anywhere.

Though I did take pity on The Jar and shovel a path across the deck for him.  The poor thing NEEDED to go out – and it was better than walking him around the block!

Photobucket

I’m embarrassed to admit that I’ve misplaced my camera.

I have no idea where it is – I mean, it’s not like this house is THAT big, that things can just get LOST, but, well, there you have it.  I’ve been feeling a little under the weather this weekend, and you know how, when you’re sick, your brain doesn’t work right?

Yeah, I’m pretty sure I stuck the camera somewhere “safe” while I was in that foggy state.  Hopefully it’ll turn up soon.  Until then, I guess I’ll be taking pictures with the cell phone.

Cool, huh?

Photobucket
 photo IMG_20140105_120635_zps2e1ada16.jpg

Jar is obviously undecided as to what he wants to do when it snows.

On the one hand, he’s DYING to go outside.  Right. This.  Minute.

Then he gets out there, dashes across the deck, down the steps, and . . . ends up plowing through snow up to his chest.

At which point he MUST come back inside.  Right. This.  Minute.

Which wouldn’t be so bad if it didn’t play out several times a day.

Like what, the snow situation is going to change in the space of a couple of hours?

Photobucket

Did I mention I haven’t been feeling so hot?  There’s this nasty bug going around, and it finally caught up with me – folks, please, if you’re sick, STAY HOME!  Nobody wants your germs!

So yeah, the past few days have been pretty miserable.

However, on the bright side, Peeps took the dog for his morning walk and let me sleep in on Saturday morning until nearly NINE O’CLOCK.  Do you KNOW when the last time I slept that late was?   Me neither.  Just wow.

On top of that, he very kindly went out and got me a pint of hot-and-sour soup for dinner, too – as far as I’m concerned, there is very little in this world better for a cold than good hot-and-sour soup.

Photobucket

Speaking of my darling husband.  After six months of unemployment, a couple of weeks of background checks and a couple of physicals, he’s landed a job with an armored car company.

I’m not sure how much I’m allowed to say about it – they’ve got rules about that sort of thing, I guess – so basically, he wears a uniform, goes to work, carries his pistol, and brings cash to the places that need it.

So far, he doesn’t hate it, so I guess that’s a good sign, right?

Photobucket
 photo IMG_20140105_145123_zpse73b101c.jpg

Now for the continuing saga of the car situation.

You’ll recall that last week, my mechanic boycotted my Volvo – yeah, I know, nothing says I have to listen to him, but Jim’s been looking out for me and taking care of my cars almost since I moved to Rochester – I trust him as much as I trust my father when it comes to automotive things.

So. . . when I called my father and told him about the situation, he said that, well, he still had my mother’s Caravan which she no longer drives and which he’d like to get out of his driveway – he’d bought it new, and it has fairly low mileage, and I could buy it for, as it happens, almost exactly what I have in my “car repair fund” – which, to be honest, is kind of a steal.

So. . . more later about the new Mutt Mobile.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  I’m still not feeling 100 percent, so, while the last thing I want to think about is meals for the rest of the week, I know how much easier it will be later if I’ve taken the 10 minutes to plan now!

Monday – After a couple of weeks of holiday fare, it’s about time we lighten up a bit!  Our local supermarket has Alaskan cod on special this week, so we picked up some lima beans and will bake them together like we did a while back with the tilapia – I’m already looking forward to it!

Tuesday – When I made the cannoli cheesecake for Christmas, I needed to buy a tub of ricotta, of which I only used half.  It only makes sense to use the other half in lemon-ricotta pancakes, maybe even along with some homemade bacon.  Who doesn’t love pancakes for supper?

Wednesday – We’re still getting used to the whole Peeps getting home after I do thing, so we’re going to try cooking a chicken in the slow cooker – I don’t think I’ve ever really done that before.  I’m basically going to try this rotisserie-style version.  I may even add some potatoes, just to see how that works.

Thursday – We spent some time this weekend (when we weren’t looking for the camera!) making a big old pot of pork sugo – the sauce is done, so we just need to cook some pasta, stir it all together, and cheese it, baby!  Since this recipe makes a TON, there will be plenty to share with The Boy and his young lady (they love this stuff too!) plus probably another dinner next week.

Friday – And back to Friday night pizza night – I’ve been very much enjoying the roasted eggplant sauce I made at the end of the summer – and Peeps has been enjoying the roasted tomato sauce.  We froze it in muffin cups, then popped the sauce out of the cups into freezer bags.  Each portion is the perfect size for an individual pizza – it’s perfect for us!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - January 6, 2014

Greetings from another snowed in cook 🙂 I am sorry about your camera. I *hate* misplacing things. A few weeks back I could not find my beloved engagement ring. I located it only after going thru the trash IN THE DUMPSTER and finding it in a closed bag! Yikes! I hope your camera will turn up soon. That Christmas cannoli cheesecake looks divine; wish I had some. Your “new” van looks wonderful! Enjoy! Get better soon, and I hope for Jarly’s sake the snow melts soon as well 🙂

Toy Lady - January 6, 2014

Oh my gosh – that’s what I’m scared of! That somehow it made its way into the wrong box and ended up in the recycling bin or something equally horrifying! But your ring? HOW did it it end up in the DUMPSTER? 😯

The cheesecake – if you ever do make it, I’d suggest making it for a holiday or some time when there are people around. Trust me – you do NOT want this whole thing just hanging around! The first time, I ended up giving away about half of it, and the rest, I sliced into servings and froze individually.

And as for the van – I thought the wagon was big! It’s going to take some getting used to, but I’m pretty sure The Jar will ultimately approve. 😉

2. judy - January 11, 2014

Now that is a lot of SNOW. I just don’t want to see all of that. Poor Jar, poor Peeps and poor you! Hopefully your new set of wheels will be good for everything that is required of it. So hubby is back to work! I imagine he is pretty happy about that. Did you find your camera and WHERE? Yummy food talk as always. How is the “cat”?

Toy Lady - January 12, 2014

Judy, the van seems to be okay in the snow – I think, though, that I’m starting to get to the point where, if the roads are so bad I need to worry, I need to stay home. 😉

Kitty is her normal kitty self – trying to get the dog in trouble whenever she can! 😆


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

