jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 01.20.2014 Edition January 20, 2014

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

Is it just me, or has it been a long week?

I mean . . . I don’t know.  Maybe it’s because I’ve not been feeling 100 percent lately, but I will tell you – Peeps and I sat down to watch some TV last night, and within 10 minutes, I could not keep my eyes open!  So . . . it was an early to bed night for me!

Photobucket

You’ll notice that there are no photos again this week – the camera is just fine, fear not!  I have learned my lesson and am keeping it WELL out of reach of certainly furry teenagers!

By the way, I’ve frequently found myself referring to Miss Minerva Kitty as the “furry little teenager,” which only makes sense, since we’ve also got the Giant Furry Toddler, right?

So yeah, no pictures, but this week it’s because I realized that I didn’t have any – it’s just been a slow week around here, I guess.

Photobucket

Have I mentioned that I’ve been listening to audiobooks in the mornings when I walk the dog?  Yeah, that’s become my best time to get any “reading” in – at night, I just seem to fall asleep!

So our local library has hundreds of books available – both audiobooks and e-books – and both Peeps and I have been able to take advantage of the wide selection, right from our living room!

Lately, I’ve been listening to The Help, which I’m enjoying a lot.  I know it’s been out there a while and it’s fairly recently been made into a movie – I’m finding it very well-written and thought-provoking.

So is anyone reading anything good lately?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.   The forecast I heard for the next few days calls for “high temperatures in the single digits.”  You know, I can deal with the snow (within reason), and I can deal with the cold (again, within reason), but that’s just too cold.  BUT I choose to live in upstate New York, so I guess I get what I get, weather-wise, huh?  

Monday – The current issue of Cooking Light is here, and right away Peeps dog-eared the page with  Stuffed Chicken and Herb Gravy.  Since we’re both off work Monday (yay!) and have time to fiddle around as necessary, AND since chicken was on sale this week, we’re going to try that with some mashed potatoes instead of polenta and probably green beans.

Tuesday – Last week, Laura over at Hip Pressure Cooking published a recipe for Lentil Risotto which sounds . . . intriguing.   Actually, it sounds very good, doesn’t it?  I’m going to try it with French green lentils which, in my experience, take FOREVER to cook, which makes them a perfect candidate for the pressure cooker, I’d say!

Wednesday – I realized that I still had a pumpkin from last fall languishing away downstairs!  I so hate buying fresh, seasonal produce, then forgetting it’s there!  Fortunately, winter squash (of which pumpkin is one) is fairly forgiving, and the pumpkin was just fine for this interesting pork and pumpkin stew – I left the turnips out, since the one time I had them, I didn’t care for them.

Thursday – I had planned to make a pot of sauce this weekend.   So I took a package of short ribs out of the freezer, and once thawed, I realized they weren’t boneless, so that’s on hold for next week.    This week, those not-boneless short ribs are going to be braised and Balsamic Glazed.  They should do better in the slow cooker than that chicken did  couple of weeks ago.  I’ll probably serve that with some of the homely veggies that we love so much.

Friday – And again, pizza night.  I may have bought a little extra prosciutto for Monday’s chicken – which may or may not be enough to top pizzas with.  Either way, we’ve still got plenty of the sauce we put up over the summer, and that definitely jazzes up a pie!  Jar’s got his Kong, so a peaceful, relaxed evening will be had by all.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - January 21, 2014

Oh my, I’m always reading. Currently — Wide Sargasso Sea. It’s a fictional account of what might have been the backstory of Bertha, Rochester’s first wife in “Jane Eyre.” Audiobooks sound like a great idea for walking the dog. I tried listening to one once while I was just going about my day, doing computer things in the kitchen. NOT a good idea — I totally spaced out on it. I’m glad the camera has been located!! Stay warm, and here’s wishing you a more picturesque week this week 🙂

Toy Lady - January 21, 2014

Oh, my, that sounds like an intriguing book! I’m going to check my library for it. 🙂

And yeah, I learned a while back that trying to “do” anything while listening doesn’t work – the best I can do is knit, and only if it’s something basic. I can drive and listen to an audiobook, but only if it’s on the highway – no around town driving!

How’s the weather out your way? We’re facing more negative numbers again – ugh.

2. kayatthekeyboard - January 22, 2014

Catching up….Congrats on the new ride and Peeps’ new job. They make a contraption known as a “doggy seat belt,” which has a harness looking thing with a snap-ring, and a short piece of seat belt which fits into the latch and the other end hooks on the harness. It provides some support to the dog’s back should you be in an accident, and it’s cheaper than a crate and they don’t hate it as badly. Lucy has one, because she persists in attempting to climb into my lap, which is NOT a good idea when I’m going 80 down the interstate. I got mine from Amazon; think it was less than $20.

Going back to hunt down your carnitas recipe. That’s sounding good for this weekend.

Toy Lady - January 22, 2014

I’ve seen the doggy seat belts, but I don’t know – he doesn’t really sit ON the seat – would the strap be long enough? I need to go look. I already have the crate (from when we had the Dane), so yeah, while that was an investment, it’s one I’ve already made. Honestly, if he’d just SIT DOWN, we’d all be happier. 🙄

And here’s the recipe for the carnitas – and great, now I’m going to be thinking about that until I do it! 😀

kayatthekeyboard - January 22, 2014

The strap I got is probably six or eight inches long. If you have a super heavy leash, you can loop it around the seat belt itself — or, you can just pull the seat belt out far enough to go under a strap on the harness and keep him corralled that way.

3. judy - January 26, 2014

This last week seems like a blur. Winter blahs I guess. Hope you are feeling much better by the time I get your wakeup call tomorrow! Have a good week all.

Toy Lady - January 26, 2014

It’s already been a long winter, hasn’t it? I’ve been pretty blah too, Judy. Keep warm!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

