jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 02.17.2014 February 17, 2014

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, Musings.
trackback

It’s been another long, chilly week around here!

Can I be honest a moment  I am thoroughly sick, sick, sick of the snow.  And the cold.  I know it’s February, and I know it’s upstate New York, but still.

It’s just been a long, cold winter, and I, for one, will be glad to see the end of February.

Photobucket

Other than griping about the weather, there’s been not much of import going on, which explains the lack of photos!  It’s like, blah blah blah DOG, blah blah blah SNOW blah blah blah CAT blah blah blah COLD.  And so on.

Photobucket

There is hope though – spring WILL come!  I ordered seeds for the garden last week, and they arrived already!  I left them on the table for a few days, just so I could admire them and remind myself that, yes, soon I’ll be able to go outside in fewer than three layers of clothing – really!

Besides the plants I’ll pick up in May, I’ll be putting in some Swiss chard, the regular green beans, and some lettuce  We’re also going to put a row of carrots in this year (Scarlet Nantes) and a row of snow peas.  I see stir-fry in our future!

I’ve also decided to plant an entire row (or most of a row, anyway) of parsley – we use a LOT of parsley, it seems.

Come on spring!

Photobucket

The City sponsored a Food Truck SNOW-deo this weekend – I think it was intended to be a winter version of the summer’s Food Truck Rodeos.  There were several (about six) food trucks at the Public Market, and music, and, well cold and snow.  Unfortunately, I don’t think the trucks were expecting QUITE as many people to show up, but really, it’s February in Rochester – people are DYING to have a good reason to get out of the house!

I didn’t take any photos, though, because it was cold and I couldn’t get a decent picture with my gloves on!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  You know, I processed another delivery of dog meat last week, and it is clear that I’ve got to do something differently!  We can’t keep the freezer full of people food AND full of dog food.  I open the freezer door and something falls out – that’s just not cool!  We’ve had to agree (again) to work on clearing the freezers because we need to get this situation resolved.  Whether it’s going to mean a freezer dedicated to dog food (I hope not) or finding a better way to package the dog food, only time will tell.  In the meantime, though, work on pulling stuff OUT of the freezer and NOT putting any stuff back in!

Monday – Peeps and I are both home for President’s Day – yay!  We’re going to try (again) roasting a chicken in the slow cooker – the last time I did that, it tasted wonderful, but the white meat was far too dry – this time, we’ll be home to make sure it doesn’t over cook.  We’ll roast some potatoes with the chicken again – that worked out so nicely last time!  A side of steamed broccoli will finish the meal perfectly.

Tuesday – Experiment time!  I found a recipe for a bean gratin – I’m not using that recipe, exactly, but, rather, using it as a starting point.  I’ve cooked the beans in chicken stock instead of just water, and added some Italian sausage, cheese, and some of my Tuscan herbs, both to the beans and the bread crumb topping.  I also added a layer of ragu sauce between the beans and the breadcrumbs, mainly because it was there.  It looks and smells good – we’ll see what happens after it comes out of the oven.  I have high hopes.

Wednesday – And again with the making it up as we go along theme.  Last week, I made mashed potatoes and celery root to go with a dinner, and, well, I guess I went a little overboard.  We had a TON left over!  I took about half of that ton and incorporated it, along with some chicken stock, sauteed veggies, and a bit of crumbled bacon, into a soup. Simple, but very warm and tasty!

Thursday – Remember Monday’s roast chicken?  Well, we’ll definitely have chicken leftover, and chicken and dumplings is bound to be a big hit.   Not exactly Minimal Effort Thursday, but it’ll be worth it!

Friday – As always, we enjoy our Friday night pizza night – we put a bunch of single-serving pizza sauces in the freezer last summer – roasted tomato for Peeps and roasted eggplant and tomato for me.  Jarly will have his Kong to keep him busy, and it’ll be an evening of peace and harmony.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Susan - February 17, 2014

Enjoy your day at home! I agree with you totally on this winter!! SSOOOO sick of it, and just when I see a bit of light at the end of the tunnel, we’re to get several more inches PLUS ice today 😦 I do love that you ordered and got seeds, though. That’s always so hopeful. We usually plant snap/snow peas each year and I like them. They always do fairly well. One daughter and I went to our bonsai plant club Sat. and a member said he always starts seeds in March — just a couple of weeks! The bean gratin does look interesting. I”ll have to bookmark that. BTW — the LHJ soup recipe I made about a week ago that you commented on — was okay. Not all that exciting; just okay.

Judy Norton - February 17, 2014

I hope you do enjoy your day at home. I can’t imagine having to get Jar out for a morning walk in all your snow mess. It really is a long, long winter for all of you. I feel guilty that it is unseasonably warm here in Abq. We are already having fires as it is so DRY. Nothing balanced here at all. Your meals all sound yummy and enjoy!

Toy Lady - February 18, 2014

FIRES? Holy cow, Judy! Not near you, I hope?

Toy Lady - February 18, 2014

Thanks for the heads up on the soup – I won’t bother with it then! 🙂

On the seeds – I even marked the approximate dates on the packet that I need to get them started (or in the ground) – I just can’t WAIT to see the end of this winter! 😳


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

