jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 02.25.2014 Edition February 24, 2014

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Freezer Meals, Home, Information, meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff, Review.
trackback

 photo IMG_8058_zps45e7dee3.jpg

Boy, there for a minute, we almost started thinking about spring!  The weather this weekend has been, well, the word that comes to mind is temperate.  Not too cold – we actually came close to 50 at one point! – and sunny, to boot!

Although we didn’t need much (which is just as well, since the selection is pretty slim this time of year), it was nice to walk around at the Public Market without freezing for a change!

Photobucket

 photo republic_zps31800e27.jpg

Okay, I would like to pause for a moment and congratulate myself.

For the past few years, I’ve been carrying FOUR cell phones on my account – mine and Peeps, sure, but also The Boy‘s and Peeps’s mom’s, as well.

Let me just say – that kind of thing starts to add up!    Even when three of the four of us were just using basic phones – none of that fancy smart-phone stuff.

So now. . . the other two have transferred their phones to their OWN accounts, and Peeps and I?  Well, we closed our account and went with a new(ish), no-contract carrier called Republic Wireless.

Basically, we bought the phones outright ($300 each (ouch) BUT that’s what credit cards are for), and from here on out, our service is $25 a month each, plus tax, for unlimited talk, text, AND data.  No contracts, no extra charges, no nothing.

Plus?  I’ve got the Internet in my pocket, guys!

The service has been great, we love the phones (Motorola’s Moto X), and we’ve both been extremely happy.  And it’s significantly cheaper than the basic cell service with the other company.  Where’s the bad?

If you want to check it out for yourself, click on the Republic logo above –  either for more information or even to sign up yourself.  In addition, just until the end of the month, if you do use the referral link above, Republic is offering a $19 credit on new plans.

*  Unsolicited opinions here.  The only renumeration I may (or may not) receive would be a $19 credit to me, too, if anyone signs up using that link, which they’ve offered to all their customers, so . . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.   I’ve got another busy week ahead at work – it’s getting to be that time of the year, I guess!   It’s still a little weird with Peeps frequently getting home later than I do, but, on the bright side, we’re not getting up before 4AM !

Monday – We have some veal shanks in the freezer, which will cook reasonably quickly in the pressure cooker!  Several years ago, I found this recipe for ossobuco bianco, and, although we’ve only made it a few times, we love it.  I may also try risotto in the rice cooker – I think that’ll be a perfect complement.

Tuesday – I’m kind of embarrassed about this, but, ever since the Ukraine thing has been in the news last week, I’ve had Chicken Kiev on my mind.  (I’m pretty sure the Ukrainian rebels would probably be less than impressed that FOOD is what I think of when their government is overthrown, but what can I say?  At least it’s lovely, garlicky-buttery chicken!)  Maybe with some barley and broccoli.

Wednesday –  I kept stumbling across two partial bags of frozen corn in the freezer – it was driving me nuts!  So . . . you know what you do with two partial bags of corn?  You make corn chowder.  I used the last of the chicken from last week’s roast chicken, along with some of last summers corn stock, and BOY is this gonna be good!

Thursday –  My most recent dog food purchase has  reminded me (again!) how important it is to keep the freezer under control – what goes in MUST come out!  As it happens, Peeps opened the freezer door the other day, and a container of pork sugo fell out.  Ha – saute the broccoli rabe we picked up at the market, and we’ve got dinner!

Friday – Friday night is always pizza night for us – the crust sits in the fridge and ferments all week, and we’ve got plenty of homemade sauce, salami, ricotta, mozzarella, provolone, basically whatever we’re in the mood for.  And, of course, Jar’s Kong!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - February 25, 2014

YAY for a nice market day! May many more return soon! So weird you would mention Republic Wireless; a friend JUST told me about them yesterday. It does sound like an excellent rate. Maybe it’s time for me to step into the smartphone world???? I kind of love your news/food association. Chicken Kiev, yum! I’m sure the Ukranians wish they could be enjoying some of it in peace this week.

Toy Lady - February 25, 2014

We’ve been very happy, and I’ll tell you, I can see why the kids these days are so attached to their phones! 😉

They kept talking about Kiev on the radio – sometimes you just can’t UN-hear something, you know? 😆

2. CrftySAHM - February 25, 2014

I have followed your MPM blogs for some time now, and forgive the ignorance but I am wondering where you are living? What is a Public Market? You show such interesting things.

Toy Lady - February 26, 2014

Thanks, Crafty! 🙂

I’m in upstate New York – just north of Rochester. The Public Market is, well, it’s kind of like a mix of a farmers market and a flea market, I guess, and it’s open year-round. In the winter, it’s fairly quiet – just the regular vendors. It’s one of the oldest continuously operating farmers markets in the country and was voted America’s Favorite Farmers Market a couple of years back. 🙂 (Can you tell I’m kind of proud of our market?)

Rochester Public Market

3. Monday Musings: 03.03.2014 Edition | Dark Side of the Fridge - March 3, 2014

[…] Oh my gosh!  I saw this recipe for peppery pinto beans on the Facebook the other day, and I decided right then and there that I was ALL OVER IT! […]

4. kayatthekeyboard - March 3, 2014

Catching up: I’m intrigued by the rice cooker risotto. Is there a major difference in it and regular risotto? I sure like the “easy” factor. Also, my rice cooker is a $19.99 Rival el cheapo; think it would work, or should I saute’ everything first and dump over? (That doesn’t hurt the “easy” factor much.) My sympathies (per your next post) on winter. Here in the allegedly sunny South, we have five inches of sleet on the ground, and the high today is 20. The sun may be shining, but this just “ain’t natural.”

Toy Lady - March 3, 2014

The risotto is pretty close to “the real thing” – maybe not QUITE as creamy, but definitely close. And my cooker is about the same – only I got it at Aldi. 🙂 I was surprised that I could “saute” the onions, etc. right in it – it took a little longer, and they never got really browned, but I chopped them fairly small and they all but dissolved anyway.

And snow is bad enough – but sleet SUCKS. (But MAN I’m sick of single digit temperatures. . . )


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

