jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03.03.2014 Edition March 3, 2014

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_20140301_111836199_HDR_zps454ae2ee.jpg

Okay, I don’t know about you folks, but I am SO OVER this winter.  It’s March, for Pete’s sake – shouldn’t something – anything! – be starting to thaw by now?

Here’s how bad it is:  we keep a compost bucket outside the back door – the idea is that we dump our kitchen scraps into it, and periodically someone (usually Peeps) will walk it across the back yard and dump it into the actual compost bin.  Reasonable enough, right?  Sure it is.

In fact, here is how reasonable I am.  I know that in the winter, it can be tough to time it so that we’ve got a path off the deck and to the composter, enough daylight, and high enough temperatures that we can actually dump the frozen block of compostables out of the bucket.  So we actually have a second winter backup compost bucket – and two 5-gallon buckets have always been enough to get us through to spring.

Not this year.  This year, both of my compost buckets are full, nearly to overflowing, and remain frozen firmly to the deck.  Yet the kitchen scraps – coffee grounds, vegetable peels, egg shells, and the like – they just keep coming!

So when Peeps and I stopped for lunch at a local burger joint the other day and I saw they were selling pickle buckets for $2, I was all over it – my newest compost bucket is a recycled Patriot Pickle Pail!  And if you look closely, you’ll see that the original contents were “Kosher Dill Freedom Chips.”

So I’ll celebrate my Freedom Chip Bucket and just hope it’s a sign of the coming freedom from winter, because I don’t think I can take much more of this.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’re still primarily eating out of the pantry, mainly because meat prices seem to be going up – we need to be prepared, when we see a good sale, to be able to take advantage by stocking up, and that means both having some extra money squirreled away AND keeping enough space in the freezer.  Eating out of our freezer, rather than shopping for every meal,  helps prepare us in both ways.

Monday –  All the talk about eating from the freezer, and I did pick up some cod on sale.  I try to add fish to our diet whenever we can – it’s good for us.  One of our favorite preparations is to wrap the seasoned fish with some lima beans in foil and bake until the fish is done.  And since I have half a package of lima beans lying around in the freezer, it only make sense!

Tuesday –  We pulled a package of chicken wings out of the freezer then set about wondering what to do with them.  I found this recipe for savory chicken drummettes that looked interesting, so we’ll basically bake them right in the sauce, like we have before.  We’ll pan-roast some potatoes and saute the rapini I got last week and completely forgot to cook.

Wednesday –  While making room in the freezer for the upcoming dog food delivery (50 pounds of beef), I pulled a turkey out to defrost, which we roasted over the weekend.  And around here, leftover turkey means one thing – hot turkey sandwiches.

Thursday – Oh my gosh!  I saw this recipe for peppery pinto beans on the Facebook the other day, and I decided right then and there that I was ALL OVER IT!  However, since we don’t have an kielbasa in the freezer (I thought we did, but Peeps is sure we used it), I used about a pound of smoked pork instead.  Oh, and instead of water I cooked the beans in chicken stock made from last week’s roasted chicken.

Friday – As always, Friday is pizza night at our house.  I’ve very much been enjoying ricotta cheese on my pie (leftover from the last pan of lasagna I made), along with some salami.  And, of course, Jarly’s Kong.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Jean - March 3, 2014

I am also very sick of winter! Spring has to be wonderful this year as a prize to the winter we’ve all endured, right? I just finished up trying to eat out of our freezer during February–we had a turkey during that time as well 🙂 Your menu sounds great!

Toy Lady - March 3, 2014

Thanks! I may have gone a little overboard around the holidays – I picked up 4 turkeys for the freezer. 😳 But to be fair, we’d just started raw-feeding the dog, so the dark meat half of them are for him. 😉

2. Judy Norton - March 4, 2014

When will it ever end for you people up there? I know it can’t be soon enough for any of you. How is Jar holding up? How is Peeps holding up with the driving and stuff? How is MIL holding up too? Your menus always make me hungry even early in the mornings. I hope things get better and good luck with the “losing the weight” stuff going on again. It is NOTHING to smoke over! 🙂 I am sending you a fun e-mail. Enjoy..

Toy Lady - March 5, 2014

I know- UGH on the snow! And even the snow’s not as bad as the cold – I have had enough single-digit temperatures (above AND below zero, thank you)!

Peeps is doing all right with the job – and his mom is SERIOUSLY hating the winter!

How’re you doing out your way? Care to send some WARM east-ward? 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

