jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03.10.2014 Edition March 10, 2014

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff, Stupor Kitty.
trackback

 photo IMG_20140308_093554740_zps3b41cbdd.jpg

Hopefully, this will be the last – or close to it, anyway – of the COLD market trips!  Boy, it’s just not as much fun shopping for produce when the temperatures are stubbornly stuck in the teens, is it?  We’re still a ways away from anything truly “fresh” – though I picked up some Meyer lemons, so there’s that.

 photo IMG_20140308_080919552_HDR_zps3f3bfe5b.jpg

One cool thing we noticed – the City is installing a vehicle charging station right there at the public market!  

It’s starting to look like I should start saving up for my Tesla, huh?  By the time I can afford one, there should be charging stations on every corner, huh?

Photobucket

So. This happened.

 photo IMG_7969_zpse03670da.jpg

I don’t know if you remember – I’ve mentioned once or twice how we have Treat Time in the mornings, right?

Basically, I sit down on the kitchen floor with the dog on one side of me, and the cat on the other, and we play the Name Game.

No, not that one.

Basically, I sit between the two of them, and, as long as they’re paying attention to ME (and not each other), I’ll say one of their names.  When the owner of the name looks at me, he or she gets a treat, and I mark that with a click of the clicker.

Sounds kind of silly, huh?  Especially with a, um, mature kitty.  (She’s about 13 years old.)

 photo IMG_20140309_173906_zpsfd085a66.jpg

Well.  The other evening, while Peeps was walking the dog, I was cleaning up the dishes and the kitty was frolicking around the dog-free living room, like she does.

As we’d had turkey with gravy for dinner, there happened to be a pan with some nice homemade turkey gravy that, any other time, I would have let the dog give a quick lick to (it’s FAR more effective than pre-rinsing) before washing.

But the dog wasn’t there.

So . . . more in a conversational way than anything else, I said “hey, Minerva Kitty!” and would you believe this!  She came RUNNING back to the kitchen like her tail was on fire!

So the moral of the story is this:  not only can you teach an old DOG new tricks, you can teach an old CAT some tricks too!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Boy oh boy, can I just say – again – that I have had ENOUGH winter!  I mean, yeah, we love the hearty, warm foods and all, but we like salad, too.  And grilled stuff.  BUT we still do what we can to eat seasonally, and right now, the calendar notwithstanding, the season is winter.

Monday – Our supermarket had Norwegian salmon on sale, so, since it’s been a while since we’ve had any salmon, we thought that would be a nice change.  I’m thinking of pan-searing or roasting it with some sort of apple-bourbon glaze.   I also couldn’t stand it anymore, so I picked up some imported asparagus, which will be roasted to go with the salmon.  Baked potatoes and fresh bread will finish the meal.

Tuesday – We have a gift certificate for Applebee’s that’s expiring shortly, so, well, that.

Wednesday – We haven’t enjoyed our pasta with lentils in ages – and I just picked up lentils at the market, too.  I may try pre-cooking them in the pressure cooker, just for the heck of it.

Thursday – As we were rummaging in the freezer, we found a package of three NY strip steaks – so we defrosted them, split one for a steak-and-egg breakfast later in the week, and I used the remaining two steaks in a vegetable-beef soup.  After all, if spring’s not going to come, we may as well enjoy some more soup, right?

Friday – And again, it’s pizza night – Peeps has started making the crust the Sunday before (instead of Tuesday, like he used to) and would you believe, the pizza is better than ever?  Seriously!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. yuliyafruman - March 10, 2014

I love going to the market, too. I live in the Netherlands, and markets are really common. I take my son every Friday or Saturday, and it’s so much cheaper.

You have some really great meals there! Pasta and lentils is a combination I would never have considered. That might have to be an experiment for next week!

Toy Lady - March 10, 2014

Hi, and welcome! 🙂 I never would have dreamed of combining pasta and lentils, either, but I saw the recipe and it was just SO odd that I had to try it,https://widgets.wp.com/notes/?v=20140213# you know? And it turned out that we loved it – which is why I try to try different things whenever I can – you just never know!

2. Lesley Snow - March 10, 2014

I’m with you on the ‘sick of winter’ thing! Our market is on Tuesdays and I go to get meat, cheese and produce that I’m sure I can get at a regular store but I do like the ‘market’ feel. 🙂 Pasta and lentil eh? Hum.

Toy Lady - March 11, 2014

Yes, really – pasta and lentils is a thing! 🙂

I love the market, too – I don’t always save any money shopping there (especially eggs and meat) but I do prefer to give my money directly to the farmers. I’m happy to pay a 50 cent premium and have it all go into the pocket of the egg lady. 🙂

3. Anne - March 10, 2014

Our neighbor has a Tesla. We live on a narrow dead end road, and the truck that delivered it (full sized semi) couldn’t make the turn into his street. He had to back all the way out, at night, with my DH lighting the side of the road with a flashlight. But it’s a sweet car!

(I won’t mention that it’s in the 60’s and 70’s this week, and my forsythia is about to pop. Daffodils have been out for a week or two. No, I didn’t say that. :D)

Toy Lady - March 11, 2014

Yeah, yeah. We’re looking forward to ANOTHER blizzard. 😦 I think I might have seen a crocus leaf the other day. . . 🙄

4. judy Norton - March 16, 2014

Another week here and gone and I did not comment on the “kitty” yet. She warms my heart because I can so relate to the situations. I loved the picture of the trio on the floor! I am afraid to even look at your “weather” and I sure hope this coming week will be more spring like for all of you.

Toy Lady - March 18, 2014

Oh, Judy, I so hope it starts to get better! The sun is out, so at least there’s that, anyway. 🙂


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

