jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03.17.2014 Edition March 17, 2014

Posted by Toy Lady in Eating Down the Fridge, meal plan monday, Musings.
trackback

 photo IMG_20140312_103833137_zpswquekiqz.jpg

Boy, has this week been a rough ride or what?  I mean, talk about “in like a lion,” huh?  Maybe a psychotic, schizophrenic lion!

Tuesday, we had temperatures in the 50s – it was gorgeous!

Wednesday, we got about 20 inches of snow, more or less, depending on which side of town – go ahead and guess which side we’re on!

Thursday – single-digit temperatures, then, by Friday, back into the 50s again.

And now we’ve been hovering in the 20-30 degree range since.

Who do I talk to about this, anyway?  I mean . . . it’s St. Patrick’s Day, for Pete’s sake!  How about a little o’ the green, eh?  Grass that is – I’d love to see some green, green grass!

Photobucket

 photo IMG_20140316_100328029_zpswltibjfm.jpg

We roasted a chicken over the weekend and used a new spice rub – a Moroccan blend, with 16 different additions.  You know, I love putting together blends with lots of different spices in a Mason jar – it’s like making sand art.   Isn’t that pretty cool?

Photobucket

Did you ever have that moment when you realize that you’ve actually turned into your mother?

Now I don’t mean like when your grandmother tells you that you look “just like your mother did at that age, deary.”  No, I mean that moment when it just strikes you that you ARE your parent.

I thought that had happened when I realized that I’d heard my mother’s voice come out of my mouth – and not just once, either.   Did you ever warn your kid NOT to make you pull over this car?  Or ask him, mid-whine, if he’d like you to GIVE him something to cry about?  Yeah, that’s got your parents written all over it, doesn’t it?

 photo IMG_20140105_145123_zps1875f8f3.jpg

It wasn’t even the day my mother and I were out somewhere (I don’t even remember where) and I realized that we were wearing the same shoes.  We’d each chosen them at different times, in different stores, completely independently of each other, but they were the SAME EXACT SHOES.

Nope.  The day I started driving my mother’s car – that was it.

Now I’m not talking about a car just like my mother’s – no.

I mean the actual minivan, bought brand new and paid for by my parents, driven by my mother, and now, owned and driven yours truly.

I could go all into the tale of woe about check engine lights and (yet more) expensive repairs to the Volvo, but at the end of the day – I bought the minivan from my parents, and now I’m driving my mother’s old car, and honestly, I don’t even hate it.

Maybe becoming your mother isn’t such an awful thing after all.  Huh.

 photo IMG_20140301_150743561_zpsa1e534b0.jpg

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’ve gotten a little off-course with our “no-shopping weeks,” so we’ve re-instituted it this week.  We’re clearing some of the older stuff out of the freezer, and putting the budgeted grocery money aside for future bulk meat purchases.  We’ve found that this works well for us.

Monday – The last time I made a big pot of sauce, I stashed a quart in the freezer.  That came out, so Monday is spaghetti with meat sauce.  And as a bonus, Peeps is going to pull some pizza dough out of the freezer and make garlic bread.

Tuesday – A couple of months ago, we received our Cook’s Country magazine, and Peeps was riveted to the recipe for Tourtière – a French-Canadian pork pie.  This particular recipe uses ground pork shoulder and shredded potatoes in the filling and the fantastic crust from the Moravian chicken pie – we’ve had a hunk of pork stashed in the freezer to make this since we saw the recipe, so this is the time!

Wednesday – We roasted a chicken this weekend, so I’ll make pressure cooker stock from the rack and use that, and the leftover chicken, for some chicken and dumplings – only this time, the “dumplings” are going to be these “pot pie squares” which actually seem like noodles to me.  This’ll be fun, huh?

Thursday – We picked up a spiral ham a while back, which we promptly cooked, enjoyed, and then returned to the freezer in smaller packages.  Along with those packets of ham, we also stashed the ham bone for soup – I’m so looking forward to my favorite split pea soup with ham!

Friday – And again, after a long week, it’s pizza night.  We picked up a couple of pounds of hard salami when it was on sale last week, and the great thing about salami (besides how wonderful it is on pizza)  is that it’s got so much salt and other preservatives that it keeps very well – we can keep it for a couple of weeks!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Lana - March 17, 2014

LOL! I am driving my Mom’s minivan too and it come to us the same way. I have gotten to the point of sometimes seeing my Mom in the mirror! Creepy. I am 53 so I have a bit of gray and that is when she showed up in my bathroom mirror!

Toy Lady - March 18, 2014

I haven’t gotten to the point where I see my mother yet – only hear her voice! I’m almost the same age as you are – is that what else I’ve got to look forward to? 😉

2. Lesley Snow - March 17, 2014

Wow. That is sort of how I got my van too. When my step-father passed my mother didn’t want to drive something so big and I had 2 large dogs and a Honda Civic Hatchback. We traded. 🙂

Frankly – the shoes would have sent me to therapy. Lol

Toy Lady - March 18, 2014

Lesley, I don’t even know how you’d get one of your dogs into a Civic – let alone two! Jar was uncomfortable in the Accord, which led me to the wagon, which, ultimately, led to the minivan.

And the shoes – yeah. 😕

3. Anne - March 17, 2014

The shoes, that had me rolling. 😀

Toy Lady - March 18, 2014

Anne, you have no idea. It was like that scene in House (we LOVE Hugh Laurie!) where everyone kept telling Foreman he was becoming just like House, and the very last scene, they were in the elevator, Foreman looked down, and they were wearing the same shoes. OMGosh, I was dying!

4. sjbraun - March 19, 2014

Ha — yes, I have had the “turning into mom” experience several times — often pointed out to me, none too happily, but my kids 🙂 And yes, this winter can make its exit any time now. Ridiculous!!

Toy Lady - March 23, 2014

So I guess my experience isn’t so unique, huh? 🙂 I suppose it happens to all of us at some point doesn’t it?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

