jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 06.02.2014 Edition June 2, 2014

Posted by Toy Lady in Information, meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_20140531_091115272_zpsl6h3lmvv.jpg

 

Hello and happy June!

This week’s market trip yielded another big batch of fresh asparagus – I always make it a point to get my asparagus from the same guy – it’s fresh, local, and, after all these years, he knows me, so he gives me a break on the price!

Gosh, can you believe it’s June already?  I mean, it seems like just a few weeks ago, we were shoveling snow and . . . oh, wait a minute, I guess it was, wasn’t it?  HA!

I love spring – I love the freshness of the new produce, the greenness of the lawns, being able to leave the windows open all night – and I honestly don’t think I’d appreciate it quite so much without the cold, dark winter first, you know?

 

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan. While there’s only a slight chance of rain in the forecast for this week, we still haven’t gotten completely into “summer grilling” mode yet – so we’re going to play it safe.

Monday – Last weekend, Peeps smoked a big old brisket, and, even after several lunches, there’s still a good portion left – so we’ll enjoy that reheated with a little barbecue sauce, some mashed potatoes, and sauteed mustard greens.

Tuesday – The current Cook’s Country magazine has a recipe for Pretzel-Crusted Chicken Fingers that sounds good.  I’m not quite sure what we’ll do with it, though.  Some sort of potatoes, I guess, and a vegetable.  Maybe salad (from my garden!) or broccoli.

Wednesday – With certain factions of the herb garden threatening to take over the world, I think it’s time for the herby-tuna pasta that we love so much.  That’s pure summer food for us!

Thursday – This is it – the end of that brisket!  Again, we look to Cook’s Illustrated – sort of, anyway – for Smokey Kansas City BBQ Beans.  Only instead of finishing the beans on the smoker, we dumped the remainder of the smoked brisket right in them and we’ll finish them in the slow-cooker. It’ll be fantastic!

Friday – Our regular Friday night pizza night brings us a relaxing evening w

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

I have something of a confession.  Well, not a confession so much as an admission.

See, here’s the thing.  I find that, as the weeks go by, writing this blog is becoming more of a chore than not.  As much as I’ve enjoyed writing over these last few years, I’m finding that I don’t have the time to put the effort into it that I used to.

And let’s be honest, I’m not really writing anything worth reading, am I?

In other words – it’s not you, it’s me.

So.

I don’t want to lose touch with our tens of readers – the people who’ve stuck around, left comments, and, in generally, made me feel like someone out there really is listening.

Since YOU know who you are (in real life, that is), I’m going to have to leave it to you to keep in touch.

If you’re on the Facebook, please do send me a “friend request” – oddly enough, after all the years I’ve avoided it, I find Facebook oddly . . . easy. It’s so simple to share random thoughts or links or pictures – right form my phone if need be!  So do look me up – it’ll be fun!

 photo 26ee48c3-d9eb-4fa8-872a-67faf32fb415_zpsb340eaac.jpg

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. mazco34 - June 2, 2014

We’re already Facebook friends, and while I may not comment, I do love reading the blog. How else would I get my Jarly fix?

Toy Lady - June 2, 2014

Fear not, Maz – you know Jar makes regular appearances on the facebook, too! 🙂 Next weekend, he starts tracking class. . .

2. Judy Norton - June 2, 2014

Well, this just breaking my heart! I have enjoyed your blog so very much so I can only trust that we can keep in touch. I also need a Jarly and kitty fix and a check in with you to keep my world a better place. Just DON’T disappear. OK?

Toy Lady - June 3, 2014

Aw, Judy, you know I’m not going far. And not forever.

Plus, we’ll always have Facebook. . . 🙂

3. cynthial1956 - June 2, 2014

I just found your blog from the OrgJunkie Menu plan and will follow you now! It is hard to blog and think that no one is reading – just remember, they are even if they don’t comment!

I am envious of your great asparagus deal! I love them.

Toy Lady - June 3, 2014

Thanks, Cynthia, for commenting. 🙂

I know people are OUT THERE, whether they comment or not – I’m just finding the whole act of sitting down and Writing A Post somewhat . . . daunting lately, I guess. The Facebook thing makes it so easy to post quick thoughts – photos – videos even – almost on the fly. As they occur.

And the blog will still be here if the urge strikes. 🙂

And I love me some asparagus, too! I planted a bunch of it when I was pregnant with The Boy, but, sadly, we left that home just as it was starting to produce. I still miss it.

4. kayatthekeyboard - July 9, 2014

During one of my now-infrequent ventures to the food blog world, I ran across this. My own blog is fairly dormant now, as well. Sent you a friend request…good to know I can keep up with you!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry